Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Great recipe. I've never tried making a sweet & sour chicken recipe before, but this was delicious. I used red and yellow peppers instead of green because that's what I had on hand, and I used real pineapple instead of canned. 2 lemons gave me a little less than 1/2 a cup. Only giving it 4 because there was a little too much sauce for the amount of chicken called for, so next time I will make a little more chicken or save some sauce as it will probably be great accompanying some vegetables too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Really good, easy recipe. I simplified this just slightly, I threw the flour and spices in a bag with the chicken, gave a shake to coat and dumped into the frying pan. I only browned the chicken before adding the vegetables in with the chicken, let the veggies cook down slightly then added the pineapple, ketchup and apple cider vinegar (didn't have lemon juice). Then I just let the entire thing simmer while I made rice. For the pineapple I used crushed but I used an entire small can instead of half of one. I added only a tiny bit more sugar to sweeten it up slightly after adding the extra pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tfaithministry
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
1 word. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Really good! Husband and daughter loved it. Easy, takes a little longer than I thought, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Wonderful! My husband said "that's the best sweet and sour chicken I've ever had" Thanks wmbloomer for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativeglutenfree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Delicious! This is restaurant quality! I will make this again for sure, we loved it. I used cornstarch instead of flour and added some diagonal sliced carrots for color and a dash of red pepper flakes for a little heat. I also used pineapple chunks. Great recipe. Perfect sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good takes a little more time than said but it's worth it I doubled the tecepie and I used instead of brown sugar lemon and ketchup I used sweet and sour sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Girlcit
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was a very easy recipe to follow, and will come out nice if you prep as directions say. I prepped all of my items before cooking to ensure that my sauce would taste how I wanted. It took me about 10 minutes to do so. I did however leave out the celery. Cooking time was about 15-20 minutes I made rice along with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
So easy and delicious. I also made some modifications. Pineapple tidbits instead. Had leftover broccoli, snow peas, cauliflower & carrot mix instead of celery & peppers. 2 tbsp cider vinegar added for a nice bite. Hoped for leftovers...didn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States