Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by joan
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
It's a great recipe. I doubled the chicken for our family of six, and added two tablespoons of corn starch to the flour which helped thicken it in the end. Used a small orange bell pepper and small red bell pepper as I cannot tolerate the green very well, and sprinkled some scallion over at the end. We needed to adjust the sauce to our family ... cut the ketchup and lemon juice in half. Added apple cider vinegar and adjusted the brown sugar up some. Next time I make this (and I will!) I want to add a tablespoon of hoisin sauce, which I didn't have on hand, and add some sliced water chestnuts. Otherwise, very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Too sweet and tangy! My family hated it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue Carver
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe, but made a cpl changes - I used cornstarch instead of flour since it holds up better than flour in sauce. I also used the sweet red yellow & orange peppers in place of green. I was wary of using ketchup only since I'm not a fan, so didn't use quite 1/2 cup. Also, after combining chicken & veggies, I simmered it for a little bit, then added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it a little. All in all it was yummy!!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Didn't care for it. My boys (ages 3 & 5) tried it but didn't like it either, nor did my husband. Odd taste...I'll just stick to my regular stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe was great. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Vikki Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Made this tonight and it is officially a favorite for my husband and I. Definitely gonna be a regular go-to for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Lutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe was amazing! The sauce is just so good. I substituted the green peppers for red peppers as another reviewer suggested and I feel like with the sweet pineapple taste, red would better than green. I also did not have brown sugar and used regular sugar instead but a little less than in the recipe, worked just fine. I have to say, over a little bit of rice, this recipe is yummmmmmy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
My husbands loves Chinese restaurant sweet and sour chicken and this was very very close to it. He said, Yup you can make this again :) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My husband took one bite and refused to eat anymore. My kids ate it but didn't like it, even my teenage son who normally eats anything that doesn't eat him first. Will not make again sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This sweet n' sour sauce was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States