Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Didn't feel like making a crust so i went looking for something else. This was wonderful. I added extra spices(preference)and topped pre-baked with sliced almonds. Compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I read the reviews first - then made the pie (to get tips). I have to say that I've never baked a pie and this recipe - will be an ongoing favorite in our home for years. It's so easy, that I involved my 2 girls (4 & 11) to each make one (measure, beat/stir, peeling the apples, etc). WE LOVED IT. I used more sugar than the recipe called for (1/4 cup each of white and brown) and it was PERFECT. We picked our Granny Smith apples from an orchard here in town and that made it all the more special. In the crust topping - I also added Vanilla Extract (didn't have any Almond on hand). Made two at a time and it was GREAT. Make sure the topping isn't too wet and you clump it on top of the apples. We had one wet and one clumpy. We thought they both were good - however, the clumpiest was a bit better. Thank you for all the reviews. Have fun making this and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This has excellent flavor. Followed the review: DONT melt the butter and the crust was really yummy. The apples were not very juicy. I like my pie juicier. so next time i will use 1/2 granny and 1/2 cortland. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I had made 1/2 c.of white sugar and another 1/2c.of brown sugar.Cant believe that it would turn out perfect...my very first homemade.Thanks a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakurambo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Delicious!!! I made it exactly like the recipe, except for substituting Splenda for half of the sugar, and adding 1/4 tsp of cardamom to the dough (just because cardamom is such a Swedish sort of spice...), and it turned out wonderfully. My daughter's boyfriend is Swedish, and she says this is very like the apple pie he made when she visited him in Sweden this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I have made this several times in the last 5 or so years, with different types of apples, and it has never disappointed. My husband compares the crust to a snickerdoodle cookie. So good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Just stuck it in the oven, so far very easy. Dont like making reg pie crust. I used Zestar and some apples I had in fridge. I was just wondering if 350 is too high I use glass plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great and easy recipe. I followed it exactly as it was stated and it makes a perfect apple pie everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
For an absolute beginner like me, this was an excellent and very easy to follow recipe. I did sprinkle some powder cinnamon to the apples and tossed them with brown sugar, to the batter mix, as suggested I put some vanilla drops and finally sprinkled a bit more cinnamon over it before baking it. Lovely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzyzg

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was an interesting recipe. I definitely agree with other reviewers about the need for additional spice. I used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg in the crust; 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 or so tsp allspice, 1 T. white sugar and 1 T. brown sugar for the apples. We're cinnamon freaks, so that might be a bit much for others. I followed the advice of earlier bakers and only softened my butter rather than melting it; I ended up having to press my batter piecemeal into the pan to create the top crust. As the recipe specified, I didn't put in a bottom crust, and while it definitely made things easier, it was a bit odd when people ate it. In some ways, this was almost a cobbler rather than a pie. It's a nice change, though, with a couple of minor additions - and a lot easier than wrestling with pie crusts! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States