Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Kind of weird texture, but quite yummy. Flavor is wonderful. I am a big apple pie a la mode person, but I actually prefer this without ice cream. Already had two pieces. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
VERY GOOD! Big hit at Thanksgiving this year! I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and changed 2 of the instructions/ingredients as follow: for the filling I mixed 1T of brown sugar, 1t cinnamon and a bit of fresh nutmeg together with the 1T granulated sugar and then tossed it all with the apples. For the crust, I used softened instead of melted butter and I substitued one-half cup light brown sugar for one-half cup of the the granulated sugar. Baking time was about perfect at 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I am normally not a fan of apple pies, but this was amazingly good! It's a keeper, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I've been searching for a swedish apple pie recipe to teach my kid to bake. This is almost exactly like the one I learned when I was little. Easy for kiddos to do pretty much by themselves, and absolutely delicious! I used a bit less cinnamon than called for, and my hubby (who doesn't do desserts) was begging for it to be a regular menu item. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastazia Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Not bad, but just like somebody else said: this is apples with a giant cookie on top. I reduced the sugar in half and it still was pretty sweet. Although, I didn't use granny smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
It tastes better when cold. It must be refrigerated because of the egg though so be careful. Wasn't as good as my apple crumble so I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This pie is a great way to avoid all the hassle associated with pie crust. If you prefer a crunchy crust you cook it a little longer but be careful not to overcook it because then you'll end up with a crust that is too hard and you can't blame it on the recipe if that happens. I added 1/2 tsp more of cinnamon and decided to include 1/2 tsp each of cloves and nutmeg to spice it up a bit. The results were delicious. This pie is so easy to make that it's practically fool proof. Try it and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised that something so tasty can also be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This pie is amazing! I do not like pie of any sort and then I took a bite of this pie and it won me over. The crunchy topping is a nice touch. My son loved this pie so much that he did not want a cake for his birthday...he wanted this pie instead! The recipe is perfect as is...I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I've made it several times and am staying with my sister this weekend, and she's requested I make it. You can't go wrong with this pie. I agree with others: add a tiny bit of nutmeg to the mixture for coating the apples, and you can "adjust" the sugar to 1/4 c. white and 1/2 c. brown sugar for a total of 3/4 cup, which is plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I think this recipe would have been perfect if I wouldn't have put a full teaspoon of almond extract in per other review. It was over powering to me. Next time, I'll put maybe a 1/4 teaspoon in. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maicalani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States