Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was attracted to this because it didn't require a rolled piecrust (one thing I've never mastered and I "don't do" store-bought). Before trying this recipe I read the reviews and as others suggested, made modifications to the seasonings. Rather than just using white sugar for tossing the apples, I used 1 tbsp. each white & brown sugar, 1-1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 3/8 tsp. nutmeg. I used about half of this mixture for tossing the apples, then added the rest to the crust mixture. As for the apples, I used a wonderful variety, Wolf River, available in the Upper Midwest and New York State, though perhaps not common in much of the country. It's a fairly tart apple and the individual fruits are HUGE - some can weigh as much as a pound. I only needed two apples to make the pie. The results were terrific! (though I did increase the baking time slightly to 50 minutes... just know your oven, check near the end of the cooking time, and adjust accordingly). This recipe is one that I'll use often... in fact, hubby has already requested that I make it again next week! My heartfelt thanks to the person who originally submitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made this today and it is wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Hmmm. it just seemed to good to be true. I tried this cause i wanted apple pie but i was too lazy to make one. this one seemed easy. i cooked it for about 15 minutes longer, but the batter never firmed up. There was just a thin crunchy top, the rest was just batter really. The bottom was very soggy. I give it some stars cause it didnt tase bad, but i can not serve this to my guests...ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Made this the other day with fresh-picked apples and it was a huge hit. Have already been asked to make it again today for my family. My two daughters, (1 and 3) loved it. I followed the advice of others with regard to adding cinnamon, etc. and served it with real whipped cream or vanilla ice cream, (or in my case, both-lol). Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was so tasty and easy. I used my 5cup plastic serving square of frozen homemade apple pie filling and dropped it into my square class baking dish of apx. the same size and covered it with this recipe...it came out tasting great....soo easy and convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Delicious! This pie is very good, though I may put a little more cinnamon in the crust next time. I chopped the apples into bite sized pieces and left the skin on half of them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
this was a massive hit at a dinner party on the weekend, and it was really easy to make... i agree with pavonee about adding one tbsp of cinnam. 1 tbsp of white sugar,1 tbsp of brown sugar and nutmeg in the apples before putting on the crust. I also put 1/2 cup of white sugar and supplemented with 1/2 cup of brown sugar...just adds that extra bit of brilliance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This recipe reminded me of a cobbler, however, better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Dekicious! I hate making pie crust and this is soooo easy and everyone liked it. Sweet, and spicy with the cinnamon.It was good the next day and did not taste like a cookie on top of baked apples, as someone mentioned in their review.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made this for christmas eve desert and everyone enjoyed it! I loved the tartness from the granny smith apples mixed with the sweet sugar. I added extra cinnamon and a little brown sugar, too. Great easy apple pie alternative with no crust to roll out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anghill79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States