Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Would make this again. I use cortlands in ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Easy enough for my 14 year old daughter to make, great enough for the pickiest apple pie eater I have evr met. I followed a combination of other reviews' suggestions. This one is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly3548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
What a great recipe. I was looking for an easy apple pie recipe and came across this one. I love it. I did as others suggested and added 1 TBSP brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamom to the apples. The apples were still a little tart, so next time I make it, I'll add more sugar. I think using apple pie spice would be great too. I also used the brown and white sugar in the topping. It was crunchy, chewy.......and so yummy!! I'm making this instead of apple pie for Thanksgiving this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Loved this! Much simpler than messing around with a crust for traditional apple pie. Although traditional apple pie will still have its place, this is much easier and delicious. My husband was quite impressed as were all three kids (ages 7, 5 and 2). I did add half brown/half white sugar to the apples along with cinnamon. I made the topping with half brown/half white sugar also and added a little almond extract as another reviewer suggested. Making it again today to take to my brother and sister-in-law as they just moved to a new house so we'll see how they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is really yummy!! I used Macintosh apples because we picked them fresh. I also cut the butter down to one stick (1/2 cup). The best part is that it is so easy to make! You can just whip it up before dinner to serve warm afterwards (with vanilla ice cream, of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
All around great pie for a college student with limited cooking supplies/resources/experience. I have replaced some of the flour with oats when I have them on hand with a fair bit of success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As many other reviewers did, I adjusted the recipe to add flavor. Tossed 6 very thinly sliced apples with sugar & cinnamon, and placed in two pie plates (one 9-inch and one smaller, 7-8 inch). For the crust, I used 2/3 c. white and 1/3 c. brown sugar, 2/3 c. flour and 1/3 c. graham cracker crumbs, just-melted butter (closer to softened than liquid), nutmeg, and cinnamon. I had enough topping to spread over both pies (thinly), and cooked them together for only 30 min. The apples were very soft (almost like apple sauce), the crust was crunchy, and it was perfect-- not too sweet, not too tart-- and I have enough for home *and* to take to work. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was by far the best apple pie I have ever had. My husband is Swedish and he is hooked!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe if you read all the reviews. Thats what I did. I then combined the winners and the result was a huge hit last night. Since it was more like a cobbler and my group was 10 I used a rectangle casserole pan and 1 1/2 times the recipe. My pan was an 8x9 with probably a 1 1/2" side. If you use a 9x12 pan you need to double the recipe. For apples. 7 medium granny smith. I peeled sliced and dropped along the way into a bowl of water and lemon juice. This keeps the apples white while you peel. I mixed 1 tablespoon white sugar, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nut meg. After draining and drying of a bit of excess water with a paper towel from the apples I sprinkled and glazed them with the mixture and poured them into a bare pan. For topping the trick is to not over melt the butter. Just soften the butter. Wisk 1 egg, 1.5 cups flour, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. Add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/5 tsp nutmeg. Mix these altogether. Since the topping is not pourable just a large clump at a time of topping and then spread as evenly as possible over apples. It will spread out perfectly while baking. Bake at same temperature and time or until golden brown. The top comes out crispy. Since there is no pie shell you don't need to treat your casserole pan with butter or oils. Every drop comes out of the pan without sticking. Treating it would just make the dish too buttery. It was wonderul and devoured. It was better than a cob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love this recipe!! I made a mistake and put a pie crust on the bottom and it was just wonderful.I also added 1 teaspoon light brown sugar and used 6 apples. I love the cinnamon crust. The only thing is that it doesn't cook in 40 to 50 minutes. It took me 1 hour and 15 minutes so it would be crunchy. But some ovens are different than others. I have a new oven that seems to take about 10 minutes longer to cook things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States