Easy Summer Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Definitely quick and easy. Made it look like an American flag with blueberries and strawberries for the 4th of July. We all enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is also really good with a pre-cooked crescent roll "crust" or one of those Betty Crocker sugar cookie mixes made into a crust, though you'll want to double the filling and fruit ingredients if you choose to do a whole cookie sheet full. It's really quick and easy to make and everyone always loves it. Sometimes, if I have time, I toast coconut and sprinkle it over the top. It's a nice base recipe that you can bend and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is excellent but there is NO WAY the one 8 oz. cream cheese covers that much pie crust (or cookie dough which is what I used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Made this twice already ~ but used cream cheese without sugar & topped the pie with fruit glaze from the produce section ~ Easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Made this tonight. Used sugar cookie dough as others recommended. Made it in a pie plate. Definately needed 2-8oz. pkgs. cream cheese. Tweaked filling a little. To 2 pkgs. cream cheese, I added 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tablespoon lemon juice. Topped with sliced fresh strawberries and kiwi. It was fantastic!! Will definately be making this again. Going to try graham cracker crust next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I love this recipe! I did make one change though, and used a refrigerated pie crust instead of frozen. It was much easier. Just roll it onto a cookie sheet and bake....easy! It is so light and fresh tasting, but I think it tasted more like a pastry then a desert. I have no problem letting my son eat this for breakfast....its a great way for him to get his fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Love this recipe, but I always use sugar cookie mix for the dough. I don't think I would enjoy it at all with a pastry crust, but maybe graham cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Hook, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Olive Hill, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this pie. I have also made the crust with a can of pillsbury sugar cookies, but a few more calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
It's a tasty recipe but not for a poolside party nor a hot, summer night unless you have this sitting in an ice bath or kept in the fridge until ready to serve. The cream cheese softens in the heat and starts to mush up the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Apricot20
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
With Pet Ritz pie crust, this came out great. I have made this with the sugar cookie dough but I had one Pet Ritz 9" pie crust in the freezer and wanted to use it. So I let it thaw, pressed it flat on my pizza stone and baked it. I only needed to use 3/4 of the Philly cream cheese because the pie was small. I also added 1/2 tsp. vanilla flavoring. I covered it with local strawberries, blueberries and peaches and then glazed with apricot jam thinned with a smidge of water. It came out great. (See my photos under Apricot20) I think I like this better than the sugar cookie dough! I gave it 4 stars but with a fruit glaze, it becomes 5 stars in my book. The pie crust, after baking and refrigeration, tasted like Christmas butter cookie dough and the decorative edging gave it a finished look. Thanks for this recipe. It IS fun, summery, and easy. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apricot20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States