Easy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MRSPARKERII
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I reduce the temperature to 350 because I am baking in a convection oven and 9 minutes is perfect. I add 1/4 t almond extract and sometimes substitute lemon extract for the vanilla. This is a perfect cookie the way it is written, but also to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Perfect go to easy cookie. Nothing AMAZING...but you can add what ever you like to it, like Heath or what ever chips. Good easy cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Szell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Wow! I live in China where ovens are rare, but I missed the taste of cookies (they don't do baked goods here very well...) so I went out and bought a little convection/toaster oven to make a few cookies in whenever I missed home. I definitely made sure to soften the butter, although I have to admit, I did toss everything together, instead of following the steps. It helped that I only made six at one time (small oven, remember?) but these were great. I did not have access to vanilla extract but they tasted fine without! I pretty much just stood by the oven and ate them before even letting them cool, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I did these 2day for my daughter and my siblings and they were jus perfect. 2014 and still rating this recipe as the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I LOVED it. It's the best sugar cookie recipe ever. I just recommend letting the butter sit out on the counter until it's room temperature. But if you're in a hurry, microwave it for 10-1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was just ok. Recipe turned out crumbly with no flavor but my husband ate two plates full so i gave it a three lol it might just be me lol. Looking forward for more recipes on the website!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I don't know how these could not turn out delicious!! So simple and delicious!!! Next batch I'm going to put in a little fresh orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I am very eased with the taste, texture and the ease of working with the dough. Here's a tip to always get soft cookies: add approximately 1teaspoon of Guar Gum. This will help keep your cookies soft for days. You can find in the baking section of the grocery store. It's not cheap but will last a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe calls for too much flour. We have attempted this 3 times now and I finally got smart enough to cut the flour. I am a seasoned cook/baker (I was most definitely measuring correctly). If you use 2 3/4 cups of flour, you will end up with a very crumbly dough. I reduced it to 2 1/2 with much better results. It was still crumbly but I kept mixing and it FINALLY came together. Next time I will drop it to 2 1/4 c. If I were to rate this after cutting the flour, I would give the recipe 5 stars. However, as written, it only gets 3 from me. Before, it was a dry cookie. This last time, they much more moist and chewy. My advice is to add the flour slowly when you make this. See what works for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I agree with Rolanda, however, her comment saved me from making that mistake and for her future reference...they were only plain because you allowed them to be plain. Here's what I did while in search of the worlds greatest cookie WITH THIS RECIPE! 1) I finally stopped believing that somehow Miss Crocker with her prepackaged ingredients, would somehow get me where I needed to be. Stephanie on the other hand...ROCKS! 2) Obviously, I'm a guy and guy's tend to try to keep with the KISS method of "keep it simple stupid" which I did and in knowing that I am surely not rolling anything I am not going to drive or smoke (in my younger daze the latter) I opted to adding an egg, a 1\8 cup of olive oil and 1\2 a cup of sugar while replacing half the vanilla with almost extract. Why? Because of 3) I added about 1\2 cup of chopped almonds-pecans (totaling 1\2 cup of nuts), goatmeal, shredded coconut, white chocolate chips and 1\3 cup of toffee chips. The egg, oil and sugar help to offset all these extra ingredients and in keeping with my KISS method...after stirring it up by hand for longer than I would have imagined...I lazily poured the whole thing into a 12x24" flat (1\2" high), aluminum pizza pan and spread it out evenly. Gave my Labs the lickings of the bowl and stuck it in the oven. You MUST monitor its progress to make sure it's baking the way you want or you'll get crisp edges. After about 10 minutes, I rotated the pan in the oven and then in 10 more minutes, by palm, I patted it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States