Easy Strata and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I like to use Hawaiian bread (brioche would be good too). I add vanilla, cinnamon, a little nutmeg & some maple syrup to the egg mixture. For cheese, havarti, and turkey sausage for meat. Popular in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Edie Schneickert
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is a nice, easy, basic strata recipe. I'd like to experiment with different cheeses and ingredients. Mine required an additional 10 minutes of baking (as someone else noted.) If you prepare it the night before as I did, remember to allow plenty of time in the morning to bring to room temperature before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Delicious! I used some roasted garlic French-style bread from Costco that was absolutely dynamite. It gave a bit of a bite, both in flavor and texture. Plain white bread would just be mush, I'd think. We did cooked sweet sausage and a grated and pressed zucchini, plus some mustard powder and chopped garlic scapes in the egg mix. The french bread necessitated more egg on top, and it took about 1 hour at 350, after having come to room temp for about 10 mins. The middle was a bit underdone, but the broiler took care of that in a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I found this on Allrecipes years ago and have made it ever since with different variations. Everytime I make it someone comments that it is even better than before and I have sent links to this recipe dozens of times. This time I sauted mushrooms, fresh spinach, cherry tomatoes cut in half and scallions along with bacon and sharp cheddar. I used fresh Italian bread that I sliced myself and I always use my lasagna pan to assure that everything fits. I weigh it down overnight - cook it first thing in the morning. I usually serve with a homemade quick bread such as almond, strawberry-lemon, or banana and fresh fruit especially berries. I don't think there is a way to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this for a ladies brunch and it was a huge hit. Easy and delicious. Can't wait to try other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was made for a post-Christmas brunch today, and scored a home run. My grand-nephew told me three times that he loved it. The adults weren't shy with praise either. I used day-old french bread with most of the crust removed. yellow and red peppers, ham, scallions and the mushrooms, but a little less ham than called for. I'm glad I checked before adding mustard because of allergies. I might have added a tablespoon of Dijon (although not called for), but would have had to eat the whole thing myself. I would have died happy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danriser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I didn't have all the ingredients but it tasted great. My husband even liked it. He had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker449@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I had to alter the recipe a little. I used thinly sliced Italian bread and 10 eggs instead of a dozen. It was delicious. Everybody (even the picky wee ones) went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Super easy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States