Easy Strata and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Delicious! I used some roasted garlic French-style bread from Costco that was absolutely dynamite. It gave a bit of a bite, both in flavor and texture. Plain white bread would just be mush, I'd think. We did cooked sweet sausage and a grated and pressed zucchini, plus some mustard powder and chopped garlic scapes in the egg mix. The french bread necessitated more egg on top, and it took about 1 hour at 350, after having come to room temp for about 10 mins. The middle was a bit underdone, but the broiler took care of that in a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I found this on Allrecipes years ago and have made it ever since with different variations. Everytime I make it someone comments that it is even better than before and I have sent links to this recipe dozens of times. This time I sauted mushrooms, fresh spinach, cherry tomatoes cut in half and scallions along with bacon and sharp cheddar. I used fresh Italian bread that I sliced myself and I always use my lasagna pan to assure that everything fits. I weigh it down overnight - cook it first thing in the morning. I usually serve with a homemade quick bread such as almond, strawberry-lemon, or banana and fresh fruit especially berries. I don't think there is a way to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this for a ladies brunch and it was a huge hit. Easy and delicious. Can't wait to try other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was made for a post-Christmas brunch today, and scored a home run. My grand-nephew told me three times that he loved it. The adults weren't shy with praise either. I used day-old french bread with most of the crust removed. yellow and red peppers, ham, scallions and the mushrooms, but a little less ham than called for. I'm glad I checked before adding mustard because of allergies. I might have added a tablespoon of Dijon (although not called for), but would have had to eat the whole thing myself. I would have died happy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I didn't have all the ingredients but it tasted great. My husband even liked it. He had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker449@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I had to alter the recipe a little. I used thinly sliced Italian bread and 10 eggs instead of a dozen. It was delicious. Everybody (even the picky wee ones) went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Super easy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I used sausage, mushrooms, 8 eggs, a crusty Italian bread cut into cubes and mixed everything together rather than layered. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Awesome! I used sausage, steamed broccoli,...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Mushroom and bacon is a tasty combination! This is even delicious cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States