Easy Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This was my first time making creamed spinach and this recipe was wonderful. I did cut down the breadcrumbs because it was way too much for such a small casserole dish. I will be making this for years to come. It was also very quick to prepare..I microwaved the cream cheese, stirred, and put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This was pretty good with some major doctoring. I halved the recipe since it was just two of us. I added lots of grated parmesan cheese, lots of garlic powder and a little onion powder. I also didn't measure the seasoning salt or the bread crumbs (just eye balled them both). I think I'll use roasted garlic bread crumbs next time. I just put it all in to taste. I also microwaved the cream cheese briefly to make it stirable. The casserole would be way too bland without some tweaking. I would definitely make it again if for nothing other than it's ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I'm not giving a perfect rating because I changed it a lot, but this was a perfect addition to our holiday spread this year. I ended up dicing up 1/2 of an onion, mushrooms (about 3/4ths of the carton of button mushrooms) and a red pepper. with those additions not only did it look christmas-y, it was FANTASTIC. I made it again for a New Year's Party, and people devoured it. I'm sure it's really really good with just spinach, but I do feel like it would be too much like a dip or spread and not a casserole. Great Starter Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAWASEWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I think this is a great recipe. We have it every holiday season but with a few changes. We omit the bread crumbs and add a small can of chopped black olives and 1/2 a jar of real bacon pieces. Thanks for the recipe Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIPAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
excellent! i used 3 bags of fresh spinach that was on it's last leg purchased from the farmer's market 2 weeks prior. nothing left by the end of the night! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I changed this a lot: ) My daughter does not like the texture of cooked spinach. Sauteed chopped onions, mushroom stems until tender, added crumbled pieces of cooked bacon. Added splash of sherry, dash of garlic powder, mixed in with cream cheese whipped with finely chopped fresh spinach to which I added Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Had a lot so I stuffed the mushroom caps and baked in the oven. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fierymist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
this turned out to be very impressively simple and full of flavor. i used fresh spinach. and used caesar crutons instead of bread crumbs, and i also added cheddar cheese. loved this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was a fun little side dish to play with. I used some other reviewer's suggestions to add greater flavor and then diced a 5-ounce can of water chestnuts which provided a delightful crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FancyNancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
If you want a simple creamed spinach recipe that it quick to make, this is the recipe. I will make it again but will use a 1 quart casserole and only about 1/4 of a bread crumbs next time. Maybe a little mild too. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This tasted terrible! I have been trying out various spinach casserole recipes and this was by far the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States