Easy Spicy Mexican-American Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was good. Not great, but good flavor. Personally, I'd prefer to see this sauce used as a chicken wing sauce as opposed to baking the chicken thighs in it. I'm picky with thighs and (if not BBQing) always cut, pull, and wash away as much as the fat as possible. Even then, as someone else mentioned, when making as directed, the sauce was too diluted with fat from the chicken (and I was particularly careful with these). We did scale cayenne down to 1/2 T and I threw in a little honey along with the brown sugar (about a tsp or so). We ended up removing from the sauce, separating the fat from the sauce, then brushed more of the remaining sauce on top while running under the broiler to crisp it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe!Spicy food is my all time fav,and this is my NEW fav;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Awesome. I rarely find recipes spicy enough for my gf, but this one fit the bill. I had a beer on hand to drown the spice. :) Made this slightly different, I browned the thighs in a cast-iron skillet, poured the sauce over, and baked them uncovered in the skillet. Had a thermometer on them and it took about 20 minutes in the oven that way. I boiled down the sauce after I took the skillet out of the oven and poured it back over the chicken (and over some couscous and corn I'd made).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I'm making this for the second time (in a month) tonight. I positively love how you can change up the spice and sweetness and its so super easy! I mix all my ingredients in one big bowl and just dip the chicken through it then pour all the remaining sauce on top. I double the hot sauce and brown sugar and keep all other measurements the same (I usually make 8 pieces at a time). I cook it in a glass covered pyrex baking dish then uncover it for the last 25 mins. This is definitely a keeper for a quick easy meal. Tonight I'm making it with legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
1. The sauce will never thicken. Chicken thighs have a lot of fat and fat drippings do not thicken when cooked. 2.Sauce was good, right amount of spice. 3.Bone in chicken thighs cook longer than 40 minutes at 400 degrees. Besides, who actually eats 1 chicken thigh for dinner? Our chicken was still red and bleeding near the bone. Cook for an hour at 400. Also, the skin was soggy and a little slimy, which is another reason to cook them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was a hit at my house. I used a combination of hot sauce and taco sauce, I was trying to keep the spice down a bit so the kids would eat it. And they loved it! Luckily I made a triple batch of legs and thighs because four pieces wouldn't have been nearly enough. I've made it several times since, and I don't measure, just dump it all in a bowl and roll the chicken around in it before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used part Chilulo and part Frank's Red Hot plus doubled the brown sugar. Had a bit of kick but not too much. I may go spicier next time but this was a very simple and easy recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Benson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
if you love spicy food this is a great recipe. I used Tapatio hotsause and just added a little bit more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Awesome! I did not change a thing but increasing the amount of chicken and sauce. I put 8 small, boneless, skinless chicken thighs in an 8x8 baking dish. For the last 5 minutes or so I flipped them over to really immerse them. Paired with Mexican Rice III on allrecipes and corn cake - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very easy and delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States