Easy Spicy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I played with this recipe a little and it was just perfect! I also used a can of ready cut tomatoes and a can of ortega diced green chilis instead of jalapenos it was mild with perfect flavor. Also, the next time I make it I will use minute rice instead of regular rice as it took forever for the rice to cook. I then added about a 3/4 cup of enchilada sauce to give it a little extra kick and mixed in a blend of shredded cheeses and topped it off with more cheese on top. It really was incredibly easy, fast and fantastic my family really loved it even the picky eaters. This will be a regular on the menu at our home. Thanks for the wonderful, fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
This is called "Easy" for a reason, and I'm sure the original, easy recipe tastes fine. The Rotel gives a great twist on an old stand-by dish. As reviewers suggested, I chose to add 1/2 c. sour cream, Italian seasoning, (heavy) garlic, dried onion, and 1/2 c. rice. For my own taste, also celery salt, seasoning salt, 3 stalks celery, mushrooms, 1/4 c. chicken broth, and a bunch of broccoli (to make a full meal from the dish). The Rotel was a great idea, and will be in all of my chicken/rice dishes from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I really enjoyed this! I added an extra 1/2 cup of instant rice, 1/4 chicken broth, and by accident i added a small can of green chilis! I dont think it is too spicy, but then again, I do like spicy food! :O) I cooked for an hour and it didnt come out mushy at all. After I took it out of the oven, I sprinkled some cheddar and monterrey jack cheese on top and recovered it with the foil so the cheese could melt. I also had a fresh jalepeno from the garden I added, gave it an extra kick! This is a definite favorite on my list. Will make again! Good job! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimee c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Very easy and quite tasty. I used 98% fat-free soup and brown rice, which added 7-8 minutes to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Great EASY recipe! I did add 1/2 cup of fat-free sour cream and topped with shredded monteray jack cheese for the last five minutes of baking. I used Basmati rice and it was done to perfection after one hour of baking. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This is a great recipe, but I found if you add 1/2 c of sour cream with the soup and 1 c of grated monterey jack cheese or montery jack pepper cheese on top you get alot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I really didn't think this was going to be a 5 ***** recipe, but alas my husband and I were both surprised. I didn't even have tomatos with chilis, just plain tomatos. I added a can of green beans and a small can of mushrooms. An extra 1/2 cup of rice and one cup water, and a little onion soup mix (about 1/3 of a pack). It was soo good and easy. Great recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
so simple and easy and very delicious! I didn't have a regular can of tomatoes so instead I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with Jalapenos and half a can of Rotel with cilantro to equal the size of a regular 14.5 oz can. Amazing! I had to cook mine a bit longer (1 hour) but very worth it! Family loved it! What an easy dish to prepare after work! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This recipe was delicious! The tomatoes and chilis added just the right amount of punch to what can be a pretty bland dish. Best of all, it passed my husbands taste test with flying colors! I did brown the chicken breasts before placing in the baking dish, and I used basmati rice, which has a flavor all of it's own. I also had to bake it about an hour before the rice was cooked, otherwise, I followed the recipe as written, with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This was an extremely quick recipe to make. I did brown my chicken prior to cooking it though. I also added about 1/2 cup of water to the soup, rice mixture. The taste was good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States