Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was yummy and a fantastic side dish, but I made a few changes. I used low sodium chicken stock instead of water, used dried cumin instead of cumin seed (and probably used three times the amount), and used fresh corn instead of frozen. I added the fresh corn almost at the end of the cooking process, just to heat it though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanteltbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I have made it several times. I love the way it makes my kitchen smell with the cumin and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAUDIAZOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was good. Not fantastic, but not bad at all. Just a good side dish to complement a good main dish. We would probably make it again, with something that is full of flavor. We added three cloves of garlic and it was yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good basic recipe. I used garlic spiced chicken broth, added peas and corn and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. Because of the extra liquid, I used 1/4 cup more of the rice. Cumin, oregano, onion and pepper. Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Loved this recipe with personal touches... vegetable broth, garlic salt, 1/2 cup diced tomatoes, 1 can of black beans, 1/2 cup diced onions, a double dash of Ms. Dash seasonings! AWESOME! My 6 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
it seemed a little too bland to be called "spiced" but it was still good. i did it in my rice maker and pulled back the water by 1/3. next time i'm going to try to add a bit more spice to jazz it up even more... even tho i enjoyed it as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Good simple recipe. I add a bit more cumin for more flavor. I usually make this rice with chicken satay (a night that i will be eating by myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Good, easy recipe. A good change from plain, or spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
It was very good, I did add 1/2 tsp of Tastefully Simple's Si Si Cilantro and 1 clove of crushed garlic, my family ate every bite, it was a nice change and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was a good dish but, I have had better. Took note of all the water and cook time and added tabasco sauce to kick it up a bit and I also added green peppers. Was good and had it a gone at the end of dinner but, I will try some more things with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbeltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States