Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I prepared this with quinoa instead of brown rice in the interest of time. The protein is a great bonus too. Otherwise, I followed it exactly. It turned out wonderful and even my 4 year old who won't eat quinoa generally loved this. It was meant to be a side dish next to the tacos I made, but everyone loved it IN the tacos. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Lynn
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe needed a little kick, so I added chicken stock, a lot more cumin than called for, thyme, greek seasonings, and substituted kidney beans for corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was great! Very easy to make and had a great flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Easy to make and tasted great. I didn't have any cilantro on hand so I used dried basil. I am not a fan of rice but know it is good for me, so this works for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I agree that the word spiced does not belong, but a nice change of pace for brown rice. I doubled the cilantro (which I used fresh) and i will add much more next time as it seems to get lost in the rice. Thanks for the post =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is delicious and so easy. The only thing I changed was to use chicken stock instead of water. It's not heavily spiced or very "spicy" but the cumin flavor comes through nicely. It's a terrific complement to Mexican, Latin American, or South American flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was quick and easy, but I added some ingredients as other readers suggested to improve the flavor. I added 1 can of Rotelle (?sp) with chile peppers and about 1/2 c of onions. I also ommitted the olive oil and used chicken stock instead of water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have cumin seeds so I substituted ground cumin (1/2 t.), Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written. I would make this again. Hubby liked it as is I would prefer to add sauteed onions to the mix after cooking. all in all a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very good ... I used fresh cilantro and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Quick and easy - a staple in my house now. Not really 'spiced' but it does have some nice, subtle flavor to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States