Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe needed a little kick, so I added chicken stock, a lot more cumin than called for, thyme, greek seasonings, and substituted kidney beans for corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was great! Very easy to make and had a great flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Easy to make and tasted great. I didn't have any cilantro on hand so I used dried basil. I am not a fan of rice but know it is good for me, so this works for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I agree that the word spiced does not belong, but a nice change of pace for brown rice. I doubled the cilantro (which I used fresh) and i will add much more next time as it seems to get lost in the rice. Thanks for the post =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is delicious and so easy. The only thing I changed was to use chicken stock instead of water. It's not heavily spiced or very "spicy" but the cumin flavor comes through nicely. It's a terrific complement to Mexican, Latin American, or South American flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was quick and easy, but I added some ingredients as other readers suggested to improve the flavor. I added 1 can of Rotelle (?sp) with chile peppers and about 1/2 c of onions. I also ommitted the olive oil and used chicken stock instead of water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have cumin seeds so I substituted ground cumin (1/2 t.), Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written. I would make this again. Hubby liked it as is I would prefer to add sauteed onions to the mix after cooking. all in all a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very good ... I used fresh cilantro and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Quick and easy - a staple in my house now. Not really 'spiced' but it does have some nice, subtle flavor to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was yummy and a fantastic side dish, but I made a few changes. I used low sodium chicken stock instead of water, used dried cumin instead of cumin seed (and probably used three times the amount), and used fresh corn instead of frozen. I added the fresh corn almost at the end of the cooking process, just to heat it though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanteltbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States