Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Tasty brown rice recipe. Always use chicken stock and add extra corn. Any type of spice blend that you like will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGizaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This is very good - but it's plain, the word "spiced" does not belong in the name. The rice cooks up nicely and tastes good, and the corn goes well, but you'd have to add a lot more spice before you would notice it with all that water and cooking time! I used fresh corn and stirred it in for the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Surprise: An instant favorite for my husband! I was doing it for a gathering and used one 2-Cup pkg brown rice, 1 teasp salt, 1 teasp fresh ground cumin. The can of Veg-All I had in the cupboard did not spoil the lovely flavors at all, but improved them. As Asians sometimes do, I made a garnish of egg strip. My speed method was to whip 3 eggs, add salt and pepper, microwave 2 minutes, lift to allow egg to nuke uniformly, cook 2 minutes more and slice in 1/4 inch slices. SO....this accidentally turned into an entree. We're filing in _favorites_. Thank you very, very much Laurie, for this rare swift and easy GOOD recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I boiled the rice in vegetable broth and added just a little bit of onion and shaved carrot - not enough to overpower. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Very easy and tasty. I like the texture of the brown rice and the cumin is a nice flavor. Next time I will probably add some chopped red or green pepper to give it a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I agree that the word spiced does not belong, but a nice change of pace for brown rice. I doubled the cilantro (which I used fresh) and i will add much more next time as it seems to get lost in the rice. Thanks for the post =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was quick and easy, but I added some ingredients as other readers suggested to improve the flavor. I added 1 can of Rotelle (?sp) with chile peppers and about 1/2 c of onions. I also ommitted the olive oil and used chicken stock instead of water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have cumin seeds so I substituted ground cumin (1/2 t.), Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written. I would make this again. Hubby liked it as is I would prefer to add sauteed onions to the mix after cooking. all in all a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Quick and easy - a staple in my house now. Not really 'spiced' but it does have some nice, subtle flavor to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was great, but I made a few changes as I didn't have cilantro or cumin seeds. I added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water, added garlic and onion powder, and 1 tsp of dried cumin. It may not be visually striking, but great on the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States