Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Tasty brown rice recipe. Always use chicken stock and add extra corn. Any type of spice blend that you like will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGizaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This is very good - but it's plain, the word "spiced" does not belong in the name. The rice cooks up nicely and tastes good, and the corn goes well, but you'd have to add a lot more spice before you would notice it with all that water and cooking time! I used fresh corn and stirred it in for the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Surprise: An instant favorite for my husband! I was doing it for a gathering and used one 2-Cup pkg brown rice, 1 teasp salt, 1 teasp fresh ground cumin. The can of Veg-All I had in the cupboard did not spoil the lovely flavors at all, but improved them. As Asians sometimes do, I made a garnish of egg strip. My speed method was to whip 3 eggs, add salt and pepper, microwave 2 minutes, lift to allow egg to nuke uniformly, cook 2 minutes more and slice in 1/4 inch slices. SO....this accidentally turned into an entree. We're filing in _favorites_. Thank you very, very much Laurie, for this rare swift and easy GOOD recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I boiled the rice in vegetable broth and added just a little bit of onion and shaved carrot - not enough to overpower. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Very easy and tasty. I like the texture of the brown rice and the cumin is a nice flavor. Next time I will probably add some chopped red or green pepper to give it a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I agree that the word spiced does not belong, but a nice change of pace for brown rice. I doubled the cilantro (which I used fresh) and i will add much more next time as it seems to get lost in the rice. Thanks for the post =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was quick and easy, but I added some ingredients as other readers suggested to improve the flavor. I added 1 can of Rotelle (?sp) with chile peppers and about 1/2 c of onions. I also ommitted the olive oil and used chicken stock instead of water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have cumin seeds so I substituted ground cumin (1/2 t.), Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written. I would make this again. Hubby liked it as is I would prefer to add sauteed onions to the mix after cooking. all in all a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Quick and easy - a staple in my house now. Not really 'spiced' but it does have some nice, subtle flavor to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was great, but I made a few changes as I didn't have cilantro or cumin seeds. I added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water, added garlic and onion powder, and 1 tsp of dried cumin. It may not be visually striking, but great on the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States