Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Very easy and tasty. I like the texture of the brown rice and the cumin is a nice flavor. Next time I will probably add some chopped red or green pepper to give it a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This recipe didn't have much flavor. It didn't taste any different than plain brown rice to me or my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Surprise: An instant favorite for my husband! I was doing it for a gathering and used one 2-Cup pkg brown rice, 1 teasp salt, 1 teasp fresh ground cumin. The can of Veg-All I had in the cupboard did not spoil the lovely flavors at all, but improved them. As Asians sometimes do, I made a garnish of egg strip. My speed method was to whip 3 eggs, add salt and pepper, microwave 2 minutes, lift to allow egg to nuke uniformly, cook 2 minutes more and slice in 1/4 inch slices. SO....this accidentally turned into an entree. We're filing in _favorites_. Thank you very, very much Laurie, for this rare swift and easy GOOD recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This is very good - but it's plain, the word "spiced" does not belong in the name. The rice cooks up nicely and tastes good, and the corn goes well, but you'd have to add a lot more spice before you would notice it with all that water and cooking time! I used fresh corn and stirred it in for the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This recipe was not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I used regular basmati rice, and it's great. I've made it a few times this week already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I boiled the rice in vegetable broth and added just a little bit of onion and shaved carrot - not enough to overpower. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
excellent and tasty really enjoyed the recipe was so easy and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Recipe definitely needs more cumin to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I made this stuff to go with the Chicken Balsamic off this site- went together really nicely. We were out of cilantro, so I used basil instead. The spices arn't overpowering- it was a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njohns19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States