Easy Spaghetti with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Just like Momma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I actually made some changes to the recipe. Instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey. Instead of tomato paste, I use tomato sauce and diced Italian herb tomatoes. Instead of garlic powder & dried minced onions, I used fresh minced garlic and onions. I didn't have any mushrooms so I skipped that ingredient. Instead of spaghetti noodles I used fettuccine. It turned out so delicious. It was so easy to make a homemade spaghetti sauce. I will definitely make this version I created in the next family dinner. But this time, I will include the fresh mushrooms and perhaps some fresh green bell peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I found myself scrounging around in my pantry looking for something to make for dinner this evening. I had spaghetti noodles, a pound of ground beef, and a bunch of cans of tomato in its various forms. So, I figured spaghetti sounded good . . . but I'd never made my own sauce before, and wasn't about to attempt figuring out the spices on my own. Thank goodness for allrecipes! I found this recipe for spaghetti sauce, and decided to give it a try. We were NOT disappointed! Yum! Thick, unlike the runny sauces you get in jars at the store, and probably healthier too! Very flavorful . . . tasted exactly like I thought spaghetti sauce should, only better! The only thing I did different was to add a teaspoon of basil and used a teaspoon of fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. We just like garlic a lot, and like basil in our spaghetti sauce as well, so I thought why not? I am adding this to my recipe box, and will be making my spaghetti sauce like this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Great basic recipe, my husband and I changed it a bit by sautee'ing real onions and 2 cloves garlic with the mince, then added more black pepper and dried basil to the sauce. Go easy on the basil, a little bit goes a long way. I would never have thought to add sugar to the sauce, but it makes a difference. We also only simmered for about 25 minutes, but I forgot to uncover it (splatter concern), so it was a bit runny. If you want to cover the sauce to cook, try draining the can of chopped tomatoes first to reserve, you can always add it in later if you need more liquid. Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I liked the foundation of the recipe..but like so many others I added Italian seasoning and a bay leaf since it needs to cook over an hour..also added water..could serve over rice also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsNimako

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mentone, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Yummers! A very good recipe. Four stars because I enjoyed it thoroughly and it had good flavor, but I was hoping for something with more of a robust flavor. Still, it's nice because almost everyone has these ingredients just lying around in their pantry! I will certainly be using this again when I am in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Decent flavor but way to thick. This should be labled a meat sauce as opposed to tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought this was a good base for a sauce. I felt it needed to be doubled, since I added home made meatballs to it. I also added more seasoning, such as italian seasoning, and some sugar to reduce the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good..family loved it!! Son usually hates spag. but he even LOVED it!! I added another can of tomato sauce and 2 small cans of water. Then for the tomato paste, sauce and chopped tomatoes I used the Oregano, Basil and Garlic flavoring from DelMonte...and it was very, very YUMMY and made it more juicier instead of like meat sauce! BTW...ONLY let it simmer maybe an HOUR to HOUR and 15 mins TOPS!! and was just an tastey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC'smommie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sophia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States