Easy Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These were NOT "southern" at all! The mayo made them a waxy texture instead of flakey... and everyone knows biscuits are supposed to be flakey, right? I thought maybe the mayo would be a secret, magical ingredient but was definitely proven wrong. Sorry for the bad review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used 2 cups All Purpose flour and added 2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I sprayed my mini-muffin silicone tin (24 count) with Pam spray and spooned the batter in. Baked for 30 minutes and they came out perfectly! This is good as is, but would also make a great base for other batter flavors (cinnamon, garlic, cheese, etc....). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
We had breakfast for dinner tonight and I realized I didn't have anymore frozen southern biscuits. I made this recipe and I honestly do not think we will ever buy frozen or refrigerated biscuits again. These were so easy to make, and so light and fluffy. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It was a huge hit with all of our family here in Alabama. Good southern cookin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Was a little concerned about the mayo, but thought I would give them a try. Glad that I did! Easy and tasty. I did not use paper in the pan just sprayed with non stick and the popped right out.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
very wonderful recipe would not change a thing about this recipe. perfect perfect thank u for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Easy and delicious biscuits! No mayo taste at all. They baked up very nice. I highly recommend using buttermilk as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
ok so i don't like mayo at all but i still dedcided to give this recipe a try. like some of the other reviewers suggested i used buttermilk instead of regular milk. i tasted one when it got out of the oven..I did not care for it..so i let it cool down like one reviewer said and that deff didn't help it. i'm sorry, but I did not care for thesel! they tasted like mayo and were heavy and no flavor what so ever. i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Perla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I just pulled these out of the oven... very yummie. Not really buscuit-like, but very good in their on right. I used fat free mayo because it is all I had... I was a little afraid because baking with fat free stuff sometimes doesn't turn out right, but these are very good. I baked them until they were golden brown and a little crispy on the outside. I didn't used paper-liners. Just sprayed the miffin tins with baking spray. VERY EASY to make and definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The texture was very strange - much like a muffin, not much like a biscuit. Additionally, they stuck so badly to the muffin cases that I lost half of each one just trying to get them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeneathArthursSeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I don't have self-rising flour so I threw in some baking soda and baking powder. (a little too much I think) That's the only change I made and these are fabulous!! I was afraid with the sugar they wouldn't work so well for biscuits and gravy but these are superb and is the first recipe for biscuits that I didn't screw up on! Yay!! Thank you Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States