Easy Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I replaced milk with buttermilk and just greased the muffin cups instead of lining them. I took them to a last minute dinner party and got rave reviews over them. Great warm with butter. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
What happened? I followed the directions EXACTLY. My biscuits would not come out of their paper liners. I should have just greased the muffin tin I guess. I'm new at this cooking thing and that's why I tried this simple recipe. We did manage to eat the tops of the biscuits which were fluffy and delicious. However, half of the muffins were wasted. Did I do something wrong again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
My family absolutely loved these biscuits. I didn't have any shortening, so that was why I decided to look this up in the first place. It was fast, it was fluffy, and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone with little time and a big appetite on their hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used 2 cups All Purpose flour and added 2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I sprayed my mini-muffin silicone tin (24 count) with Pam spray and spooned the batter in. Baked for 30 minutes and they came out perfectly! This is good as is, but would also make a great base for other batter flavors (cinnamon, garlic, cheese, etc....). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is the best biscuit recipe I have ever found. They bake up very nicely but for even lighter fluffier biscuits try substituting buttermilk for the regular milk. This makes it a 5-star recipe. I just drop them on a cookie sheet coated with non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Easy and delicious biscuits! No mayo taste at all. They baked up very nice. I highly recommend using buttermilk as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Surprisingly easy, yet soft and delicious. The reason I am giving them 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think they could benefit with some flavor add-ins. I tried some shredded cheddar, chopped chives, and garlic powder and they were great. Note: This recipe works just fine with skim milk and light mayo for those trying to watch calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! These are very good, and easy to make. I did not like the idea of making my biscuits in a muffin pan so i kneaded them and made them into regular biscuits,and when they came out of the oven i rubbed some butter on them. They turned out very beautiful. Slightly sweet, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These have a funny texture. They don't have the texture of a biscuit or a muffin to me. Looking for a typical biscuit? Look elsewhere. I scaled the recipe to 5, kneaded about 5 times & rolled the dough out. I baked on a Pam coated cookie sheet for 18 min. They cook up beautifully. At first I didn't like these at all, but I changed my review after eating one that had cooled to room temperature. They are much better eaten cool rather than hot out of the oven. I would make these again any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at EVER making homemade biscuits and man was it ever a hit! I will keep this as my always "go to" biscuit recipe. The reason I gave it 4 stars was simply because next time, I will roll them out instead of making them in a muffin pan. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States