Easy Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
What happened? I followed the directions EXACTLY. My biscuits would not come out of their paper liners. I should have just greased the muffin tin I guess. I'm new at this cooking thing and that's why I tried this simple recipe. We did manage to eat the tops of the biscuits which were fluffy and delicious. However, half of the muffins were wasted. Did I do something wrong again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I replaced milk with buttermilk and just greased the muffin cups instead of lining them. I took them to a last minute dinner party and got rave reviews over them. Great warm with butter. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This recipe was so easy to make. I even had my 10 year old son help out. My kids usually complain everytime we have a home made meal, but this time they loved it! The biscuits are great when eaten hot with lots of butter or gravy. Don't use liners, use a spray such as PAM instead. I also recommend using buttermilk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUKE-FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is the best biscuit recipe I have ever found. They bake up very nicely but for even lighter fluffier biscuits try substituting buttermilk for the regular milk. This makes it a 5-star recipe. I just drop them on a cookie sheet coated with non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Easy to make, light and fluffy biscuits. I will definitely make these again, however, next time I will substitute buttermilk for milk as a couple of previous reviewers suggested, which I think would give them a little more flavor. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
These biscuits had a good flavor but tasted more like a muffin than a biscuit. I also should have read the reviews before I made that because I did not use liners but a not stick tin and they still stuck, so make sure you use pam on your tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
These biscuits were fantastic! My family ate every one. i recommend adding some honey... and making a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This is a good recipe when you are in a pinch for biscuits and are out of bisquick. They actually turned out very good. They had more of a roll consistency instead of biscuit, but they still tasted good with homemade gravy. I added a little bit of olive oil to give the biscuits a little more moisture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I just made half a batch for myself. I should have made a full one! I lightly oiled my AirBake cookie sheet and made drop biscuits out of them. Put them pretty close together so they could attach a little. I added onion powder, garlic powder and dill = Mmmmm!!! Might want to watch the baking time the first time in case it makes a difference from being in pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I had to sub honey for white sugar (mom's on a health kick) so it came out a bit heavy but very very good. I think next time I'll try more milk or sub buttermilk. I made them as drop biscuits and they formed up very nice. Great recipie. What a suprise - you'd never guess there was mayo inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States