Easy Sour Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this recipe twice with great results. The first time I used low-fat sour cream, no lemon juice and used the water bath cooking method. The result was great tasting with no cracks but it wasn't "quite" set completely. I think the lemon juice would have done the trick. Second time I used regular sour cream, 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and the modified heat cooking method and got great results without a crack also. Either way, it's got our vote!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this for my family. I put graham cracker crust instead. It was super easy. Just a hint for warming up the cream cheese to make it soft to work with .Take the cream cheese out of the boxes leave the foil on and put in hot water for about 10 minutes. Make sure the foil is sealed. It warms it up then you don't have to wait to get to room temperature it is done in a matter of minutes. I do the same with eggs as well. I leave the eggs in the shell in warm water for about 10 minutes and it does the job. I will keep this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I loved this recipe!!! I made it for the first time for christmas eve desert and everyone loved it!!! I made it in a water bath and added some extra vanilla extract. My aunt & brother (who is hard to please) came back for seconds! will def. make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was the first time I made cheesecake, but it turned out wonderful! My husband loved it and he's pretty picky about food.. haha. It was soooo easy to make and I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Dooley
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Easy to make and tasted great. Was not very smooth though. Was my first time making cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I usually use Chantal's New York Cheesecake from this site, but only had two tubs of cream cheese and very little time so I made this one. Simple and easy. My husband loved it so I'll make this again for sure. I baked this in a 9 inch pie pan and just pressed ground up shortbread cookies with melted butter into the pan and then poured the filling in. 60 minutes later it was golden brown with a few cracks, but topped it with raspberry sauce and it was delicious. Recommend if needing a quick cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This recipe is perfect. It has now become my default cheesecake. It baked beautifully and only had 2 tiny faults. It held firm but was still creamy, and absolutely delicious. I used a graham cracker crust but will try others. I hope it can also be "tampered" with by adding other flavors without jeopardizing the body of the cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Pretty good cheesecake recipe. My usual recipe uses more cream cheese so I used this one. I used a graham crust in a springform pan. I always bake my cheesecakes for like 15 minutes at 450 then reduce the oven temp to 250-275 and bake for like another 45min. Then I turn the oven off and let it cool in there for an hour or so. Then place in frige overnight. This way there is no crack and it will be perfectly creamy, no water bath needed!! If I make this again I'd probably add a tablespoon of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Great recipe! I made this recipe just like the directions. When cooled, I topped with fresh blueberries that had been lightly simmered in a mixture of sugar, cornstarch, and water. My husband said to save the recipe, it was the best I had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
this is such a siple recipe and soooo creamy. i baked it in a water bath. so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States