Easy Sour Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have made this many times. I very much prefer this cheesecake to the classic New York style. This is not as dense or sweet as a typical cheesecake. Not sure why everyone is so concerned about the cracking. Dump a can of strawberry pie filling on top and it is gorgeous and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Absolutely perfect! No need to change ANYTHING - sooo easy! I used the exact same ingrediants, however with 1/3 less fat cream cheese and lite sour cream, but still turned out perfect and delicious and didn't take one bit of a reduced fat or anything. We ate it first after it had only cooled for less than an hour, and then again after it was cooled in the fridge. (We put cherry pie filling on each piece after it baked - too good!) Great even with no toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I was very determined to find a cheesecake recipe that had only 1 cup of sour cream since that was all I had on hand. I was a little skeptical about this but gave it a go anyway. Oh.my.goodness.!! It was velvety smooth, creamy with the perfect amount of sweetness and a hint of vanilla. The shortbread cookie crust is a great idea, it set the cake off nicely. For those of you who are having problems with cracking, bring your cream cheese, eggs and sour cream to room temp. The cream cheese must be perfectly soft; if you're pressed for time soak the packages in warm water and squish flat until warmed through. Mix the batter as little as possible-just until everything is blended. I've made this twice now and it's perfect. Quick, easy and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is the BEST cheesecake ever! Most of my friends think it is an "old family recipe" and I am not going to correct them!!! Very easy and I follow exactly with the exception that I make my own graham cracker crust. It is so easy to make them and it really gives it that "family recipe" touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Boy, this is so easy that I am requested to make it a couple times a week. This was the first cheesecake I made and then I tried another Sour Cream one that was alot more complicated and not as good. Now, when I get asked the recipe, I can recite from the top of my head, it's that easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I have never made a chhesecake before, I have barely baked cookies. I made this though and it turned out perfect. My husband and mom and friends were amazed that I made a cheesecake. Dont be afraid to try it. Super easy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe numerous times in the last year, and it's always been a big hit. I add two tablespoons of good rum instead of the vanilla as a nice variation. To make it quickly, bake it up in foil muffin cups with a Nilla wafer on the bottom as a crust. They only take about 20 minutes to bake that way. When I cook a whole cheesecake, I make a graham cracker crust and put some jam on top while it's still hot to make a glaze. In either form, it gets rave reviews! I've never used a water bath, though I do bring the ingredients up to room temp. It sometimes cracks, but I couldn't care less. It tastes the same either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
WONDERFUL, a crowd pleasere tonight! I added 1/2 cup of coconut and drizzled chocolate on top. Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is delicious. Very light. I only had 1/2 of an 8 ounce pkg of cream cheese and another full 8 ounce pkg. I reduced the ingredients by half and it came out perfect. I used an already prepared graham cracker crust. We tried it while it was still warm. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
You can't ask for an easier cheesecake recipe than this. And it is very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States