Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
The only reason I am giving this 3 stars is it was a very good BASIC recipe but alterations definitely needed to me made. 1. I would recommend using more than 1.5 lbs of meat... for this to make 16 meatballs, they would have to be very small... I made a total of 11 (cooked on low for 8.5 hours and perfect) 2. Added more spices to the sauce. I read that it was very bland so I chopped 1/4 of an onion and added it to the sauce. Also added some fresh baisil, garlic powder, salt and pepper (basically whatever I had in my spice cabinet) 3. Precooked the meatballs like other reviews said... 350 for 15 minutes... no grease in the sauce 4. I wanted to make a little more sauce to freeze so used 28oz of puree.. worked well 5. Followed other reviews and used 3/4 cup of breadcrumbs... 1 1/4 would be WAYYY too much Again, this is a great basic recipe for first time meatball cookers like myself. I will definitely be using this as a "base" and continue making my own alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These turned out great! I made them a bit smaller & cooked them on high for 1 hour, then on low for 4 hours. We came home from church to a yummy delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
These turned out great. Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Needed to add a little spice but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Easy and tasty. Changed a few things to make it Gluten free. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
These turned out amazingly good! The flavor was perfect. The only changes I made were due to what we had in the house: dried chopped garlic, dried parsley, and 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one mashed to oblivion) instead of the crushed and puree. 5 hrs on low and 1 hr on high. Awesome when served with basil pasta! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Didn't think was good as is. The bread crumb to meat ratio was off, and I would have liked a more exact amount of onion as I pre-chop all my veggies when I get home from the store so I had to guess. Next time I will probably cut this recipe in half (there's only two of us, and my crock pot did NOT hold 16 meatballs), double the sauce and egg, and pre-freeze the meatballs so they hold their shape better. Thanks to other reviewers for suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
my son loves them I put them on a sub
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nmlovel28

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I will make this recipe again, but will use 1/2 the amt. of bread crumbs; the meatballs tended to be "grainy". I also added 1 t. of ground oregano and 1 t. of Italian seasoning to the sauce. Used a medium-sized cookie scoop and got 18 meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I wasn't sure about cooking meatballs in the slow cooker, but after reading other reviews I decided to follow the recipe with a small adjustment. I did cook them in the oven first for 10-15 minutes, then I put in the slow cooker for 4-5 hours on low. My family loved them! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dolton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States