Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Too much bread crumbs for 1 1/2 lbs. of meat, used only 3/4 cup. Needs 2 eggs; and for more flavor I added 1/3 to 1/2 cup grated Romano or Parmesan cheese, 3/4 to 1 tsp. oregano or basil, and salt and pepper to taste. I added a little cayenne pepper for spice. Baked the meatballs for 20 min. on a wire rack @ 350 to 375 degrees, before putting in sauce; and only used 2 jars of sauce. I think the crushed tomatoes and tomato puree add too much liquid and no flavor, unless you add additional herbs and spices to the sauce. Cooked on low about 3 to 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
The meatballs were good, but too much breadcrumbs. I don't understand why you use a "jar of sauce" when tomato sauce is nothing more than tomatoes and seasonings to begin with. Why add a jar of already made sauce when you are actually making your own with the tomatoes and puree and seasonings. What happens is that the "jar of sauce" cooked another 8 hours becomes very very strong and acidic. I think if you skip the jar sauce, this would be a great crockpot meal. I never change a recipe when I first try it so as to give an honest review, but next time I make this, I will omit the jar sauce and maybe add another can of crushed tomatoes and a little garlic and, at the end, stirring in fresh basil just before serving and that will make this a perfect tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I like the cooking method, but the sauce is really lacking. Needs many more spices. The meatballs could use some too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Loved it. I took the leftover meatballs and made meatball sandwiches.. Toasted ciabatta rolls, added meatballs and mozzarella and put under broiler for second.. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gmalovesyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Smithfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Rule of thumb guys, I lbs of beef, 1 egg and 1 cup of seasoned bread crumbs, now add some seasonings that you like and cook these meatballs raw in your sauce of choice. Now that's a good meatball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisx28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I added romano cheese awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I use half the hamburger and half ground turkey. It seems to give it a better flavor. Other than that it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The meatballs were delicious! With of the long slow cook time, substituting fresh Roma tomatoes on the vine is a fresh and healthy alternative to their canned cousins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windset Farms

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I've made these several times and they are really great. my problem is too much sauce to fit in my crockpot and couldn't find smaller jars of puree or crushed tomatoes. However where there's a will there's a way. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
The meatballs were good, I did as a previous user suggested and added much more seasoning (we grow our own basil), parmesan cheese, cut down on the bread crumbs and froze overnight, but the sauce was Blah at best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States