Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe for Christmas and everyone loved it. I am cooking another one today along with a pot of beans. I used a spiral sliced ham so that the apple cider, spices, and maple syrup etc. would be infused between the slices. I read some reviewers who said their smoked, cooked ham was too dry using this recipe; try the spiral sliced one instead. I grew up with relatives who smoked their own hams in a smokehouse so I have to say the store-bought hams are too dry, they are also overcooked. If you look, you may be able to find an old farmer who still smokes his own meat, there are some who still do. There are ranchers in my area who raise their own cattle and sell them to buyers in the area; they will cut it up and wrap it for you. It may cost you a little more but you know where the meat is coming from, what it was fed, etc. The meat is more flavorful. I enjoy this recipe and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys using their slow cooker. Vary the spices according to what you like the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Love, Love this receipe!! Have made it several times! I freeze the left overs in a couple of freezer bags for sandwiches (the best ham sandwiches ever!). Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
OMG so good, & simple. I didn't have apple cider but I used a little bit of cider vinegar and apple juice...it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Too sweet for my taste. Very tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I was all happy to see a spiral sliced ham in the picture only to have the recipe call for a bone in ham. Sadness on my part, but looks great otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe. I loved the way the house smelled and you could taste every ingredient. I did use a precooked ham and cooked it less time. This is my family's new holiday ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We have this cooking right now. 9 hours on low...uncooked and unsmoked nearly 8 pound bone-in ham. I am going to finish it off in the oven with roasted veggies so there will be a crust on top. Just wanted to say a few things regarding these reviews. First, there is NO vinegar in this recipe. Use apple cider...that is what the recipe calls for. Spices are definitely stronger when left to cook for long amounts of time. Use your discretion. I did not put in any ground cloves and halved most of the spices. So we will see. I hope that in the future people will not criticize this recipe because they "don't really like cloves or nutmeg". That seems silly. If you don't like a spice, don't use it and don't give the recipe a bad review because it has it in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
The orange peel and the cloves are overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States