Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
made it for a x-mas party it was gone in about 10 minutes.......great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I was a little afraid due to some of the negative reviews, but I went ahead and tried the recipe and I think it was great! It was a little weird to have the ham soaking in all that apple cider, but it turned out juicy and succulent. I used an almost 6 LB sprial cut already cooked ham and did not use any spices (personal preference) and honey instead of syrup and I used less than the amount of brown sugar and syrup(honey) called for. I cooked it for 7 hours and it was almost falling apart but not quite and it was really good. Nice to come home to part of the meal all done on a work night, thanks for the recipe! I don't understand how anyone could have ended up with a dry ham using this recipe like some reviewers complained of? For me it was easy and tasted great, just what I want on a work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Welp, lemme tell you.....my whole family agreed this is the best darned ham we've all had. EVER. Now that I know now how it cooks and what I need for next time, I'll use a spiral cut ham (because the recipe didn't say....I had a fully cooked ham, but it wasn't cut) and if I have time, I'll marinate the ham in the "juice" beforehand and maybe I'll thicken up the "juice" with a cornstarch slurry so it'll have more sticking power. The ham didn't get as full of flavor all the way around as I'd hoped, but the pieces that did were AMAZING. I made no changes. Thanks for such a great ham recipe. (Oh, and the smell of this while it's cooking.....ohemgee. So wonderful.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great ham recipe! It made the house smell great all day and the end result did not disappoint! The meat was moist and tender and the flavor was a perfect compliment to the cool fall day. A definite make again. We made it as suggested with a precooked semiboneless ham but only cooked it on low for 6 hours. After we carved what we needed for dinner we put the the rest back in the slow cooker as it cooled for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegrillmaster
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I tried the recipe it was real good.!! I had a bigger ham than 6# couldn't find one that small.. It was good.. I thought some of the spices amounts where a little high just by looking at it so I backed off some. It was perfect.. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYHUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
this was so good! poured a little of the sauce over my ham on the plate. i thought it would turn out sweet, but it was just right. the cinnamon and orange went so well together on the hame. easy and so good. will make again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was a really great recipe for ham. I used a precooked Kentucky Legend Smoked Ham and it was very moist w/really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cooked two hams in two crock pots for Thanksgiving yesterday. I used smoked spiral-cut hams. The results were delicious. Since these hams were fully cooked they probably didn't need the full 8 hours. The only problem I had was that one crock pot was a new model and one was an old model. The ham cooked in the old model was perfect. The one cooked in the new model, which probably cooks hotter than the old pot, was overcooked but still moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I read all the reviews first, I followed some of the tips. I had a 10 lb spiral cut ham. I cooked it for a shorter period of time as suggested in tips. EPIC FAIL! It fell apart in good sized pieces, it was so dry and it basically tasted like salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was a really tasty slow cooker ham. I especially loved that on a Monday, I came home from work and had a great tasting ham to serve due to the wonders of a crock pot. I had my misgiving due to some of the negative reviews stating that it was dry, too much spices, etc. I didn't follow the recipe exactly (I know, I know, it's not fair to judge a recipe if you're changing it, but let's face it we all do it), but next time, out of curiosity I will follow as stated, except for the amount of apple cider which I used only 1 c. and next time will use 1/2. Here's what I did: I used 1/2 to 3/4 of the amount of spices, used only about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg because nutmeg can be overpowering in my opinion. Omitted the maple syrup, orange peel, horseradish, vanilla and the whole cloves. Added about 1 1/2 T dry mustard. I wanted a more traditional spiced ham and it realy came out moist and delicioso. For those who are looking for an oven looking ham where the meat doesn't fall off the bone, than place it in the oven in the traditional manner. But if you want mouth watering easy pleasy ham when you come in the door after a long day's work, or for that matter - enjoy yourself on the weekend instead of slaving in the kitchen, this is the recipe for you. And yes, like most of you, my ham jutted out of the top a bit so I covered it with foil, placed the lid over it, duct taped the lid to the pot and weighed the lid down with a jar. Used a smoked pre-cooked Smithfield picnic shoulder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States