Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Followed recipe except used apple juice instead of cider and it turned out wonderful - would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
The flavor was good but the ham came out so dry. Maybe I did something wrong because so many people say it was juicy, but I followed the directions exactly. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Excellent! At least that's what my family and all my guests said! Very easy. I used a ham from the meat counter and sectioned it so it fit better in my crock pot. Used less cloves as we're not huge fans of that spice. Also did not add as much cider - 1 cup was plenty as the ham let off a lot of juice. I agree with another reviewer ... save the cooking liquid for other dishes! Just freeze it for later. Thank you for such a nice recipe! UPDATE! This was incredible as leftovers! My family has been asking for ham sandwiches over and over. Wow - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Wow! I made this yesterday with an 8lb fully cooked spiral cut ham. A little bit of the ham stuck out of the cider in the crock pot, so every so often I would open it up and baste that section with the juices. I only cooked for about 3.5 hours on low and then turned the crock pot to warm for the next 3 hours. It came out perfect. The whole ham was so moist and flavorful. My husband absolutely raved about this ham, and my step daughter and her husband really loved it too! I couldn't believe just how tender and moist the ham was and there was flavor all the way to the bone. I didn't use whole or ground cloves, or the ginger because I didn't have them on hand. I did use a sprinkle of allspice, with the nutmeg and the Cinnamon. I used the brown sugar and the maple syrup as specified, but it took a whole jug of apple cider to nearly cover the ham because of the size of my crock pot. I will be making this ham again and again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonie Morgan Ricks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
GREAT! Loved it. The only thing I might change next time is less cider. I think that stood out a bit much. And my, my it sure did make the house smell good. So easy, just my style. And I sure do love the slow cooker. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Hmmmm....very tasty and moist ham. I used a 6 pound precooked ham, not spiral sliced. I cut back on the cloves to about 10. I didn't use the orange peel. Otherwise, I followed the directions. It was very moist and tasty. Even my hard to please husband loved it. I will definitely make all my hams this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made this for Easter. The only thin I did dfferent was put some brown sugar at the bottom of the slow cooker before I put the ham in and I left off the whole cloves since I didn't have any. My family thought it was the best ham I have ever made. Also wonderful because now I have more oven space for other holiday foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I tried this for Easter. My family wouldn't eat it. It looked like pulled pork and was very vinegary. I used apple cider vinegar but should have used organic vinegar. My husband thought apple cider might have worked better. Thankfully I made an other ham and they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This recipe must have been intended for an uncooked ham. Most hams at the grocery store are pre-cooked, so I'm not sure where I'd find an uncooked ham. While the combination of seasonings sounded fantastic, and most things cooked in a slow cooker are moist and delicious, this ham turned out very dry. It was awfully disappointing to have for Easter dinner, but thankfully we did not have guests over or it would have been a real disaster. Am I missing something? Because many of the reviewers for this recipe seemed very pleased with the results...the reviews were what prompted me to choose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I tried ths for Easter! Terrific! But instead of Apple Cider, I used Pineapple juice, Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykenleigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States