Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie Zorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was so disappointed. I made this yesterday for Easter. The smells were incredible however the taste was not. All I could taste was cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Well we learned last year that we didn't like much cloves at all so we only used 6 cloves. But I did everything else as prescribed (very unlike me). I'm not sure how, but mine came out dryer (when cooked in liquid) than if I baked it in the oven. I also think I don't like as many spices as this. I think I'll go back to my frozen orange juice concentrate and brown sugar rub/baste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Hard to review this. used less brown sugar (didn't have it...) Had to supplement the apple cider with ginger ale, I needed more liquid. It was good. But not my taste. No ham taste, just lots of spices. I like ham! Not my cup of tea, but may be someone elses......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I had a "pre-cooked" ham and followed the recipe but the meat turned out very dry (and too sweet for my taste). Thankfully it was just my family and not guests and the sides we had were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
PERFECT!!! I actually heard of a yummy Crock Pot Christmas Ham from the infamous Kate Gosselin. So, I searched the internet for the recipe. After reading most of the reviews, I made my ham. I got a 6 pound bone-in ham. I did add the 30 whole cloves. I just added them to the liquid. I didn't stick them in the ham. I didn't have the orange or the ginger. The ham was pretty much perfect. The only thing I would change is the cook time. 10 hours was too long for our ham/crockpot. It fell off the bone lovely, but it seemed a tad dry. We just solved that by pouring sauce over the ham on our plates. Also, when I make this for Easter, I may add cornstarch after cooking to thicken the sauce a little for more of a 'gravy'. We got RAVE reviews from family! We served with pineapple casserole (which was amazing), as well as all of our other traditional Christmas dinner sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
PHENOMENAL! I made this tonight and we all said it was like Christmas dinner. I did find that Kentucky brand ham at Target. It was REALLY good. I was skeptical about the vanilla, but it was spot on. It is worth forking over the coin for the real maple syrup too. I didn't have an orange, so I used the zest of two clementines then cut the clementines in half and tossed them in. Cooked on high for 2 hours and low for 4. It was the BEST ham ever. This is the only way we'll eat it from now on. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I tried this recipe for Christmas dinner. I was disappointed in the taste. The cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and clove taste was too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. This was the main course for our Christmas dinner for the whole family...in-laws and all. You will read some bad reviews on here about this recipe. My advice is to truly know your cuts of meat (in this case, ham). All hams are not the same. I used a pre-cooked spiral cut honey ham, and tied it together so the ham would not fray. You may want to avoid smoked hams, as the flavors may not blend well. I slow-cooked for 6 hours and it turned out great. I followed some of the advice here about scaling back on the cloves, as well. I only used 15 whole cloves and 1 tbsp. of ground cloves. But overall, a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was delicious and a crowd pleaser! It does smell wonderful. I didn't use the ground cloves and it still turned out great! I used a pre-cooked spiral cut ham and cooked on low for 5-6 hours. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States