Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I couldn't find the cut of meat specified so I used a round eye roast. It was very lean but not dry at all. As suggested by other reviewers, I added about 4 cloves of garlic and used 1 packet of onion soup and twice the broth. Served on heated naan with spicy pepper jack cheese melted on the bread. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was delicious. I decided to double the au jus recipe, but only used one 12 oz bottle of beer, a dark winter ale. I added worchestershire (not too much), a little bit of tabasco sauce for zing, garlic, mushrooms, green peppers, sweet onion, salt, pepper, and savory. I got a great cut of meat from my local butchers (who always ask what I am making and choose the best cut, then upon return asked how it turned out)If you have a local butcher I suggest you go there, a little more $$ but well worth it. I was advised to leave fat on until 130 degrees, then removed roast, cut off fat, sliced and returned to broth. I used sourdough bread toasted with provolone cheese.............I thought my boyfriend was going to propose marriage after having this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Lolabridgida

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Just made this for the first time. Easy to make and full of great flavor. The family and the kids friends loved it. Served with homemade fries basted with extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Now a weekly staple!! I used a lot of the suggestions and love this recipe!! Bored with what I know how to cook, this was a great new addition to our house. Serving it tomorrow for football!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This made great french dip sandwiches, and was so easy! For me, the ease is what makes it a five star recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe made my house smell amazing while it cooked; my mouth watered waiting for it to be finished. However, I was skeptical because I took of the lid of the slow cooker and got the overwhelming smell of beer. I don't like beer; I never have. "You can't taste the beer!" Yes, I can. Not saying it's bad; this is the first time I've liked something beer-related. Put this meat on the buttered, toasted bread with some provolone cheese and dip the sandwich in the sauce--yum, absolutely awesome sandwich. But the beer thing? Still a little off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
GREAT and EASY! It's now a staple in our family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was Amazing! I took advice of others and used dark beer, rub the meat with garlic salt, sliced a whole onion, teaspoon of soy sauce, mushrooms, I used french onion soup, beef broth, worcestershire sauce a can of beef consomme. Cooked for 7 hours sliced as thin as possible then put back in crock pot for about 45 minutes and it will be a weekly dinner in my house. SO EASY and better than any restaurant french dip I have ever tried EVER! Melted swiss cheese and put on sub rolls. ......YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I just didn't think the slow cooker was the right way to cook the meat, I prefer just buying the meat at the deli and making my own juice from broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Nicely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made this recipe and served it to 8 people, which includes myself and my 5 yer old. I substituted a london broil for the chuck roast as I find chuck roast to be too "stringy" and tough in general, even out of the slow cooker. 5 out of the 8 people indicated they enjoyed it, with three of those people having seconds (and thirds). I didn't like it for both the texture of the meat and I thought the flavor wasn't that good, but then I had used Becks so next time I might try for more of a heavier porter. That all being said 3 people asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States