Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this recipe using a 3 pound sirloin tip roast. I seasoned my roast with onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper and sea salt then I browned it in a frying pan with a little oil before putting it in the crockpot. After that step, I followed the recipe exactly as written, adding the meat to the crockpot with the beef broth and french onion soup and a 16 ounce can of Miller High Life beer (a stray beer my 21 year old son left in the fridge LOL). I pulled the roast out after 5 hours and sliced it and put it back in the crockpot for an hour with the crockpot set on warm. I buttered my french rolls and sprinkled a little garlic salt on them and put them in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes and then pulled them out, put meat on them and topped them with slices of mozzarella cheese and put them back in the oven under the broiler for a couple of minutes to melt the cheese. I served them with fried mushrooms, and individual bowls of au jus on the side to dip them in. The meat turned out very moist and tender but we all felt like they were just missing something, we just couldn't figure out what. They were lacking in flavor and my son said they tasted just like pot roast on a bun. I would probably make them again but they are not my favorite and I will probably try the other recipe on this site for french dip sandwiches made with soy sauce and rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was absolutely delicious and the dip was wonderful. I browned the meat before putting it in the crock pot and toasted the buns in a skillet with some butter and garlic salt. Add choice of sliced cheese before serving. No need to look for another recipe. Gloria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
followed it exactly and it turned out great. Had a hard time in Canada finding French onion so just bought Campbell's onion soup. Turned out it is no longer available here or they have just renamed it onion. I do see French onion on the US site though. Probably the quickest slow cooker recipe I've made to date (all of 1 min to throw it all together).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
EXCELLENT flavors! I did not have French onion soup, so I used a French onion soup packet along with another 2 cups of broth. I also added a tsp of rosemary to it. We topped these with sautéed portabella's, onions and mozzarella cheese! DEFINITELY will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
My husband and kids inhaled this. huge hit! will make many times I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was very easy and the au jus it makes was so good! I used a rump roast but I think a different cut of meat would have been better. The rump roast shredded instead of sliced and was a bit tough. I cooked mine on low for 5 hours and it was done...I think 7 would be way too long. I used a can of Michelob Lite (that was the only beer in the fridge that my husband wouldn't disown me for using in a meal) and added about 7 shakes of Worcestershire sauce and a little bit of garlic powder and onion powder to the meat. I served over rolls that I toasted slightly in the oven. I also added some mozzarella to a few of the sandwiches. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Excellent dish! Added a few ingredients (garlic, onion powder, soy sauce and wochester sauce) and sliced the meat after 4 hours. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
SUPER good, with a few changes. I read a lot of the reviews, so this is what I did, and I don't think I would change a thing. I used a 4 lb chuck roast, rubbed 1/2 tsp each garlic salt and onion salt on it then seared it before placing it in crockpot. Then I mixed together 2 cans beef consume, (Campbell's) one pkg Lipton Onion soup mix, one bottle Guinness Stout, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt then poured over roast and cooked on low 7 hours. Shred the meat, place back in the au jus, and then I added one pack of Swanson's beef Flavor Boost. Let warm in au jus for 1/2-1 hour more. I buttered some french rolls, placed under broiler, then piled on the roast beef and provolone cheese, and place back under broiler until melted. I also served it with a little Horseradish sauce on the side. (spread a tiny bit on one half of the toasted rolls) Really, really good. The meat is good by itself too, and the broth would make a really good base for French Onion soup. Will make again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I loved how easy this was to make! Really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
We just made these sandwiches last night. I actually shredded the meat with two forks since it was falling apart because it was so tender. My boys were reluctant to try it, after convincing them to just take a taste, they went nuts! Its very hard for my wife and I to find meals that all of our kids will eat. so when we find one, we make sure to keep it, this is one of those recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States