Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I give it four stars because there was way too much "beer" taste for mine and my fiancé's liking. I had to add some brown sugar, more beef bullion cubes (about 10 after I got the desired taste) and some more Worchester sauce to make it taste not so beer-y. I only used half a bottle of beer, too! Next time I'll probably just leave the beer out. Other than that, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was very bland and tasted more of beer than onion soup. I had to add another can of french onion, salt, and onion powder. Any recipe where I have to add something to make it taste better is not a 5 star in my mind. Will be looking for another French Dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Came out very tasty, even without the beer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Husband and I loved this. Slow cooked for about 8 hours, it was fall apart tender. Advice I followed from previous reviewers: used 6 ounces of beer not 12 (hubby doesn't like the taste of beer), added 1 tsp each of onion powder, garlic powder and worcestershire sauce. Once meat was sliced I put back into cooker to soak up more juice while I buttered and heated up rolls. Then placed meat on heated rolls, topped with provalone cheese slices and put under the broiler for a few minutes. So good! Will definitely add to the regular rotation of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Used many of the recommendations by other reviewers. I typically use only a name brand soup & broth in this recipe. It does cost a little more but your end product tastes better. I had to call a friend to ask what kind of beer we should use because we do not drink alcohol at our house. I have used a well known Boston Lager many times and it seems to work the best. Leftovers freeze pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My whole family loved these! I took the advice of some of the reviewers and was very pleased with the result. My picky eater son even ate them and has said he would like them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I don't consume alcohol so the beer taste stood out. I also added the kitchen bouquet, some pepper and salt to taste and some dashes of onion and garlic. Perhaps a can of beef consommé would temper the beer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was a hit! The only thing I have to say is that the meat was too tender to slice. However the shredded sandwiches were still AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I love this recipe is relatively affordable I paid roughly four dollarsfor something that would cost close to eight dollars in a restaurant absolutely wonderful I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States