Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe made my house smell amazing while it cooked; my mouth watered waiting for it to be finished. However, I was skeptical because I took of the lid of the slow cooker and got the overwhelming smell of beer. I don't like beer; I never have. "You can't taste the beer!" Yes, I can. Not saying it's bad; this is the first time I've liked something beer-related. Put this meat on the buttered, toasted bread with some provolone cheese and dip the sandwich in the sauce--yum, absolutely awesome sandwich. But the beer thing? Still a little off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
GREAT and EASY! It's now a staple in our family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was Amazing! I took advice of others and used dark beer, rub the meat with garlic salt, sliced a whole onion, teaspoon of soy sauce, mushrooms, I used french onion soup, beef broth, worcestershire sauce a can of beef consomme. Cooked for 7 hours sliced as thin as possible then put back in crock pot for about 45 minutes and it will be a weekly dinner in my house. SO EASY and better than any restaurant french dip I have ever tried EVER! Melted swiss cheese and put on sub rolls. ......YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made this recipe and served it to 8 people, which includes myself and my 5 yer old. I substituted a london broil for the chuck roast as I find chuck roast to be too "stringy" and tough in general, even out of the slow cooker. 5 out of the 8 people indicated they enjoyed it, with three of those people having seconds (and thirds). I didn't like it for both the texture of the meat and I thought the flavor wasn't that good, but then I had used Becks so next time I might try for more of a heavier porter. That all being said 3 people asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy! 4lb sirloin or chuck roast, salt & pepper then sear on all sides. 2 cans Campbells beef consomme, 1 pkg Lipton's beefy onion mix, 1/2 t onion powder, 1/2 t garlic powder, 1 T Worcestershire sauce, 1 clove garlic minced. Put in SC on low, 7hrs. Make day b/f, so can refrigerate and skim off fat. Serve with buttered/toasted rolls, w provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We make this a lot and do not make any changes to the way it is cooked. Though sometimes it doesn't take so long to cook. It's also good if you cut up the meat after it is done, add fried mushrooms and green peppers, and serve over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy, no fuss and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Sooo delicious with lots of room for changes! We couldn't find some ingredients, so we used a round roast instead of rump and Liptons onion soup mix instead of French Onion soup in a can. I messed up some of the measurements for the Beef Broth, Soup, and Beer in the slow cooker. Still turned out great! We made Au Jus gravy as a dipping sauce for the sandwiches, which was amazing, and a Garlic Cheddar Mashed Potato recipe (from McCormick, on their website) as a side dish. The potato dish really complimented the sandwiches, and the Au Jus was just... DIVINE as a dip. This recipe, along with the Garlic Cheddar Mashed Potatoes, will be a new regular in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe covered my two biggest food requirements: easy and teenager approved. I will make it again and often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe is sooo easy and absolutely FANTASTIC! I used Yuenglin beer and it worked really well. Paired with some home made mac and cheese, simply great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States