Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly. Very, very bland. The beer gave it a weird smell. Not very good. Meat was tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Following the recipe exact ly, I rate it 4 stars. It was great. But then I was making a smaller roast so I only used the french onion soup and a bottle of Blue Moon, and I give that 5! It was so flavorful and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great but...Au jus was a bit watered down and not as flavorful as hoped. I ended up adding about 3 tbs of soup base which rocked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a great way to make one of my favorite sammies. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and used beef consomme instead of beef broth. When I make it again, I'll use 2 cans of french onion soup, 2 cans of beef consomme and I'll brown the roast on all sides, using some beef broth and balsamic vinegar to deglaze the pan. Also, a little salt is nice. Since I was a little late getting it in the crock pot, I cooked it on high for 5 hours, which worked just fine. The family definitely wants this on the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Tried this recipe and prepared it exactly like the recipe called for. My husband and I were not happy with the results. I took the lid off and all I could smell was beer. It was DRY and tough. All we could taste was the beer. What do I need to do different?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Use a dark beer next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Garcelon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
ok needed more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
VERY good! I don't drink beer and my husband only drinks the cheapo light stuff...but I did have an open bottle of Merlot that I had used a couple of days prior..and I wanted to use up (i don't drink wine either). So, I used the wine instead...about 1 1/2 cups for a 2 1/2 lb roast kept everything else the same. It was very good and my husband LOVED it. Nice change from the ordinary meat and 2 sides dinners. I served them with some crispy oven fries http://layersofhappiness.com/extra-crispy-oven-baked-french-fries/ . I altered the french fry seasonings to suit our taste. Everything was a hit! :) Thank you for this recipe. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
The only problem was the beef was completely shredded after 7 hours. So if you want an actual french dip, roast the meet instead. However, it was AMAZING! Changes I made from reading reviews: 1. We don't drink at all, so I substituted beer for Pepsi 2. Add 2 tbsp Worcestershire 3. Add 2 tbsp mustard 4. Add 2 tbsp soy sauce 5. Add a pinch of salt and pepper 6. Sautee onions and put in the bottom of the crock pot 7. Add pinches of garlic powder. This really was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It was an ok sandwich, but not worthy of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States