Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious sandwich! Like a few reviewers, I made a few minor changes to add a little more flavor to it. The night before cooking, I seasoned the meat with onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and worcestershire sauce and set it in a ziploc bag overnight. In the broth I added some diced onion, mushrooms and green pepper. Regarding the french bread, I used philly steak buns. I coated the inside with butter, and lightly seasoned it with garlic salt, pepper, onion powder, parsley and thyme then toasted them under the broiler (like you would for garlic bread). Everything turned out great. Next time I think I will try using a darker craft beer to see what that does to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chance Corpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The only thing my boyfriend likes that's made in the slow cooker. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Really good, followed some of the other advice and used a chuck roast, more flavor, less cost. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Awesome and easy!! Definately use a heavier beer, I used an American Pale Ale. Add salt before serving. This will be served for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Easy and underrated. Loved, loved, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Mine turned out a bit dry - soaking it back in the juices after slicing helped. The flavor was really good though. We'll add sliced Provolone cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Hubby and boys absolutely LOVED this recipe! Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My rating is technically a 4.5 and the only thing keeping it from being 5 star is that it does need tweaked on the seasonings. I've made this as is and also made with mods. After googling rump roast I settled on a bottom round roast. While I do believe that another cut is probably more flavorful this one slices well with electric knife and is tender. I do agree with a reviewer who used consommé instead of the broth. At least 1 tsp salt and W sauce are must haves to make this basic. My own preferences include garlic and onion powder. This has nothing to do with my rating but I suggest making a horseradish mayo and putting provolone on your sandwich. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Just ok, sadly. Had high expectations based off reviews, but thought it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
hubby loved it! I added Worcestershire and put a little garlic. Toasted hearty rolls and put a little horseradish on one side and a little mayo on the other and then melted provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States