Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This was wonderful!! Though, I did change it quite a bit. From reading everyone's thoughts I decided not to cut the chicken and instead I spiced it with onion powder, garlic all-spice and rosemary. I then seared the chicken to a nice crisp brown. (This added a wonderful presentation--no more goopy mess!!) I also added some chicken broth with the rice and soup BEFORE I added the chicken. I let that set on high for about 15 min. while I cooked the chicken. Then 3 hours later (on high) I took the chicken out and served the sauce over fresh-baked biscuts. I will make this again. Wonderful with a glass of cold white wine. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this recipe and it turned out great! Big hit with my daughter who doesn't like mushrooms (and I didn't tell). I substituted a can of water for the cream of celery soup and it was great. One hint, don't just throw it all in the cooker, mix the soup with the rice, otherwise rice can be a little under done. Will definately make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
The first time I made this I used regular long grain rice, and while the rice was still a bit hard, everything else about it was delicious. So I tried again with Minute rice and it came out perfect. Easy, delicious, I've made it many times and will again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I used regular rice (not instant or minute) and uncooked chicken. The dish needed a kick, so I added 3/4 cup of white wine to the crockpot, along with some mushrooms, celery and onion. The final dish was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Here's how my family has always done it: can of cream of chicken, can of cream of mushroom, packet of dry onion soup mix, 2 cups of water, 1 cup of rice, 4 boneless breasts cut into strips, salt and pepper to taste. Mix the soups, water, and rice in the crock pot. Salt and pepper the chicken, then brown it in a little oil. Put the chicken in the crock pot; cook on low 4-5 hours. Serve with a fresh garden salad for a great keep the house cool summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
It was good, but explain about the rice. The rice came out hard. Should it be cooked first, then added to the other ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Bullard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Love this recipe! I added a cup of water and a package of frozen brocolli. Also added some garlic, some cajun seasoning, an onion and salt and pepper. My rice cooked well although the cooking time was increased to five hours on high because of the frozen brocolli that I added. Really yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Changed this a little the second time I made it and with these changes, WOW! I had a HIT! Here it is: I used 4-5 frozen chicken breasts. In your crock pot, mix 2 (10 3/4 ounce) cans of Campbell's Cream of Chicken and 2 (10 3/4 ounce) Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup with 1 cup of uncooked white rice (DO NOT USE MINUTE RICE OR FAST COOKING RICE). I omitted the celery soup and added 1 can of water. I added 1/2 tsp of celery seed, 1 tsp of dried parsley, 1/2 tsp of black pepper and 3/4 pkg of Lipton Onion Soup Mix (DO NOT ADD SALT). Stir everything really well. I then placed the frozen breasts in (DO NOT CHOP THESE, JUST PLACE THEM IN WHOLE). Cover the breasts with the soup. Put the lid on the pot and you're good to go. I cooked it for 4-5 hours on HIGH. I stirred the meal after about 4 hours and turned to LOW until everyone got home (about another hour). Would have given it a 5, but the first time I made it, it wasn't as good as I had hoped (followed the original recipe exactly). But the author was on to something good. The slow cooker is the way to go when you're at work and the clean up, WHEW! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I thought it was good. I added 1/2 cup of water, garlic salt and 2 chicken bouillon cubes (and pepper) since I had read reviews that this was bland. My rice tasted fine, I didn't notice it to be mushy, I cooked mine for 3 hours on high. Will cook it again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This dish was very good. I added about 1/2 c. milk because I was afraid it would be dry, it wasn't. I also cut up my chicken breasts. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States