Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It was ok... bland, but would be a good base for a recipe enhanced with lots of spices or herbs added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've made this a few different times. No matter what I do the rice never gets evenly cooked. Some is very crunchy and others totally mush. This time I precooked the rice with the soups for 1 hour on high before reducing to low and adding frozen chicken tenderloins. The chicken turned out great, just not the rice. I make a similar dish to this in the oven. Turns out better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was good comfort food. You do sort of have to "doctor" it up to give it more flavor i.m.o. I did buy some cream of chicken soup to try it again since I didn't have any last time (used stock and cornstarch). I only had brown rice so I had to use more water and cooking time. I also added goat cheese and some pesto and it ended up like a chicken based risotto. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this today. I added one soup can of water, some frozen peas and some Cajun Seasoning to the mixture. I cooked my rice separate, and it turned out a little too soupy for my taste. I wanted it to be thicker. The flavor is great though. Next time I will not add any water and probably make it with double the rice to get it to the consistency that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The rice turned into glue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Jackson Fierke
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'll make it again, but I'll add some veggies and other herbs/spices. It needs something...We liked it ok and it WAS very easy to make - which I like! ;^) It's just not the most flavorful dish...kinda' bland...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made this today with chicken thighs. I mixed the three soups in a bowl and added one packet of dry onion soup mix like another member suggested. (I even used the 98% fat free canned soups). I also used a crock pot liner and spooned a little of the mixture on the bottom of the crockpot first before adding the thighs. Then I added the uncooked rice to the rest of the soup mix and mixed it all together and poured it all over the thighs in the crockpot. I cooked it on low for 12 hours and it was amazing! I will make this again and again. The chicken was so tender and juicy and the rice came out almost the consistency of a risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very bland. I didn't even taste much salt from the soups. I cooked it on low for 4 hours as per the recipe with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Read reviews and tried several of the suggestions when I made this. First I mixed the rice and the soups before putting in the pot. Added half a bag of frozen broccoli, some chopped celery, and a cup of chicken broth. Topped this with four frozen chicken breasts. Sprinkled pepper and garlic salt over top. Let it cook on low while I was at work (8.5-9hrs total cook time). Rice was cooked, but overall the dish was mushy. Flavor was not as good as I expected (I love broccoli, but it was not good in this dish) Not impressed-probably won't try this recipe again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Rice does not turn out well even with adding more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States