Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe as the foundation for what I was was making. The only change I made to the ingredients list was that I substituted the white rice for some instant long grain wild rice. I also added peas, carrots, and some broccoli to the mix and increased the cooking time. I think it's delicious, and I'll give it a 4* rating. Make sure you use instant rice to avoid crunchy under cooked rice that seems to be a common problem. This is a great base recipe that leaves room to tinker with it to suit your taste. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
USE MINUTE RICE. That will take care of your hard rice problem. I added corn, peas and carrots it was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I give it four stars because it's not my favorite thing to make and I had to put the rice on high the last 2 hours of cooking because it wasn't getting cooked through. However, it came out ok in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Recipe was a good starting point.~however...next time however I will cook the rice separately and add it at the end. I used 1 can cream of mushroom & 2 cans cream of chicken. I also added water like most other posters. I also added some salt, pepper, italian seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder, a can of peas, can of corn & can of diced carrots (all drained). Trying to cook the rice with the rest of the ingredients made it a slop (although delish slop!). Definitely will be serving it over biscuits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
this was good in that it was done in 4 hours and did not require much work. i used organic soups (I cant tolerate msg) and 2/3 c dry white wine, added carrots, celery and onion. it is a bit soupy so i would add extra rice next time (i made another cup of rice to put under the dinner). my rice came out fine and i used organic lundberg white rice. chicken was cooked well after 4 hours on high. let it sit after being cooked to absorb some liquid. i may omit white wine next time and add more herbs and salt (remember: i did not use campbells which packs some punch in flavor dept)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was good, not great, but good. I really had to beef up the flavor, but it was quick easy and the chicken truly fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm sorry but this was not good. The rice was extremely mushy, the chicken was really dry. I was looking forward to it too! Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
The flavor isn't bad, but like everyone said, the rice is remarkably undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I added 3/4 cup of water because I think the rice needs water to cook. I also added some other spices. It tastes good but it's kinda mushy. The rice is also a little under cooked. I don't think I am going to do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Added the rice to the soup and mixed thoroughly before adding the chicken and lots of sliced fresh mushrooms. The rice went directly from crunchy to soggy without passing through fluffy. A problem? Nothing that a bit of creative marketing didn't solve. I simply called it "chicken risotto". My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States