Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great sauce. I agree w/other reveiwers that it would be good on legs. I put the wings in the crock pot on high for four hours, removed the wings to an oven dish, added some corn starch to the sauce to thicken, poured it over the chicken in the pan, then roasted them in a 300 degree oven for an hour or so to help the texture. They were a hit at a Super Bowl Party. Oh, a side note, most frozen chicken wings are ice glazed, and if you thaw them or rinse the glaze off before using, your recipes will be MUCH less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I wanted to make wings in my slow cooker because it would be so easy to do - I didn't like them this way. The chicken was very tender - fell off the bone - which was good. The sauce, however, didn't stick to the wings the way I like it to. The fat from the wings combined with the sauce I used and just ended up being watery. I would not recommend doing wings in a slow cooker unless you like wings without much sauce sticking to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I used chicken drumsticks instead since they were cheaper and I'm glad! This recipe makes the meat very tender and and delicious and any skin a bit soggy so the drumsticks worked best I think. I made this for a crowd as a sidedish for pizza and everyone was raving! No need to alter these unusual ingredients.. it's delicious the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I went into the kitchen this morning to prepare this meal for dinner. I decided not to make this in the crockpot. I made the sauce then put the chicken with it into a ziplock bag. ( I used some wings and leg quarters) my husband prefers dark meat. When I got ready to make dinner, I preheated the oven to 350. I put the chicken on a hot grill for about 10 minutes or so, turning often. Then I put the chicken in the oven for about 30 min. I am rating this a five because this has to be one of the best sauces I have tried. My husband loved it. It was tangy, spicy,( not hot tho)and sweet all at the same time. I printed this recipe out so I will always have this sauce. Thank you. Sincerely, Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I took the advice of another reviewer and broiled the wings for a few minutes before placing in the crock pot. I also stirred a few times during the cooking process to make sure all the wings were coated. Everybody really liked them. Some reviewers are stating these wings don't taste like "buffalo" wings. However, the name of the recipe and the ingredients say nothing of "buffalo" wings. This is a great recipe for chicken wings in a savory sauce. End of story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This was a big hit in my family. I precooked the wings before adding them to the crock pot and I also broiled them for about 5 - 7 minutes when they were cooked only because my husband decided the sauce need thickening, which took a little extra time. My son also said that this recipe out ranked any other dinner that I had made and that eventually I would run out of really good recipes to try and have nothing left to cook. I replied "that's my Plan"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Ok, I did what others did by baking first then putting them into the crockpot. I found that all the sauce went to the bottom though, so I didn't feel like my chicken got thoroughly coated. To avoid missing the BBQ flavor, I cranked the crockpot up to High for 2hrs, then took the wings out and placed them in a dish and took the BBQ sauce out of the bottom and popped them in a 350 degree oven for about 30-40min, basting them with the leftover BBQ sauce. My care group LOVED them! Those were like the best BBQ chicken wings I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
These got mixed in my house. They were great if you like boiled chicken, but they weren't like buffalo wings at all. The meat was super tender and the flavor was great, so I gave it five stars, but if you are after buffalo wing type chicken, the crock pot really isn't the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arthurfl99
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, but also used some of the reviews as a guide. I first thawed out the wings so there were no ice crystals left. (I always use fresh wings that i have previously frozen). after cooking it for 5 hours, I drained the wings into a bowl and then put them on a cookie sheet sprayed with nonstick spray. I poured the sauce into a pan, added a cornstarch slurry (2 tablespoons cornstarch mixed with 2 tablespoons water) and thicked it to a bbq sauce consistancy. then basted them with the sauce and baked for 1 hour at 300 degrees, taking them out every 20 minutes to baste. they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I was so excited about these wings but ended up being thoroughly dissappointed. Maybe I should have tried what another reviewer did and broiled them first. I thought these were just two soggy and the flavor was weird. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States