Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
The sauce was wonderful, but I followed another reviewer's advice to put the wings in the slow cooker with just a little water- I used chicken broth- for 4 hours on low, then one hour in the oven at 350 degrees with the sauce added before roasting them. They were excellent, my company enjoyed them, and we'll be licking our fingers again tomorrow night when we finish them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was a very flavorful dish with fall of the bone goodness. I made it with drummetts instead of wings and still got great flavor. The sauce is watery but i didn't need to add any sauce to the legs, as they tasted great the way they were. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was ok in a pinch. I like the wings better baked. The sauce does get watery and does not stay on the wings. I tried to thicken it up with corn starch. I also put the wings under the brioler to dry them up a bit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I did this recipe with pheasant wings and it was delicious. I used Chipotle Tabasco sauce instead of the hot pepper sauce and since we love things spicy upped the amount to about a Tb. Used a few cloves of fresh garlic instead of powdered and skipped the salsa. The sauce seemed pretty scant when it was all put in the slow cooker so since I wanted super tender pheasant wings I added about a cup and a half of chicken broth to cover and then let it cook back down at the end with a little cornstarch to thicken. The flavor was amazing! We had extra sauce at the end which I'm using tonight over a roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Easy, tasty, might be better in the oven if you're going for a traditional chicken wing. But slow cooker still has great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I left out the molasses and chili powder. I added a sweet thai chili sauce. After I cooked it in the crockpot, I did broil in the oven for 20 min for a bit more crisp texture. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
rob1999, I think you're mistaken. What kind of idiot would put something in a crockpot for 10 minutes? It wouldn't even be warmed up yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
i have cooked this and i would rate this a 5. i did change the way i cooked it some what. i oven cooked the chicken and then when done i place them in the slow cooker for 10 min and i also added 1 tbs of maple syrup.there is no need for me to buy them anymore,, there the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Just OK for me. I made these for a party and was looking for an appetizer I could use the crockpot for to get them done early. By the time my guests showed up (about 5 hours on low) the wings were cooked and flavorful - the sauce was thin, but the wings had absorbed the flavor and were pretty yummy. By the end of the party, though (10 hours or so on low) the wings were overcooked and the meat had fallen off the bones. If I made these again I would take them out before they overcooked, and then maybe bake them in the oven a little so they aren't quite so mushy. And maybe add a little honey for sweetness, and more hot sauce. And definitely buy wingettes if you can find them. Worst thing about this recipe is hacking up the whole chicken wings! Blech!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Unfortunately, despite utilizing the other reviewer's recommendations to improve the dish; this recipe was a total bomb. The texture was awful, the sauce tasteless - what a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States