Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it tastes nothing like the Carne Guisada you get here in Texas. The "seasoning" is bland, and the "gravy" was more like a soup. Very Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've made this adding Mexican oregano and oh emm gee, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~LoLa~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Great recipe. I used venison roast instead of beef and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Love the gravy - very hearty! I used a chuck steak, just trimmed it and the end result was very little fat. I didn't use potatoes, I put in two large tomatoes. Then baked a few potatoes, opened them up and put this wonderful stew over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
As soemone who has made this the original Latino way I have to unfortunately say this was TOO BLAND for me! Latino food is all about seasoning which this really has none. I had to add the ingredients I usally use to it to bring it up to par. You have to go to hispanic stores or a really good Kroger to find these but TRUST ME it makes all the difference in the world. I'll make this again just the orginal way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have used this recipe to make delicious and authentic carne guisada at least twice a month for 2 years. It reminds me of the carne guisada in the Jesse Special at Mama Panchiata's, a recipe I've tried to recreate unsuccessfully until I came across this one. I cried when they closed down in 2012 because I thought I would never again have carne guisada so good. Not so, thanks to this recipe! This carne guisada is packed with flavor that melds together perfectly. The sauce is delicious! My only teeny tiny complaint is the thickness of the sauce - I usually end up whisking in some cornstarch or extra flour at the end to thicken it up a bit. But that's personal preference so I still give 5 stars. What I'm trying today is whisking together the flour/spices/beef broth (I use water and bullion cubes) and pouring it over the meat and veggies to see if that helps. The sauce does seem a ton thicker this way so far - less soupy and more like stew. Fingers crossed! I can't wait for it to finish cooking so I can eat!!!!! I serve this with fresh tortillas (get the fridge pack and fry them up in the pan - it totally makes the meal) and eggs (scrambled or fried over medium) and sometimes cheese enchiladas to complete the Jesse Special experience. However I can't nail the cheese enchiladas so that's a recipe I'm still looking for. Overall, this is a great recipe and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great Recipe, ILENEFAITH1, thanks for sharing. I added a 4 jalapenos for an extra kick. I served it with flour tortillas, rice and homemade refried beans...thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Ore City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This tasted more like regular pot roast, it did not have much of the Mexican food taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beebe, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
What an easy, flavorful meal. I made it as described and it turned out delicious. Very mild heat but lots of flavor. We will be making this again. I read several of the reviews before making this, and had a few concerns. I am very glad I didn't make any changes. Perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and it came out great! Flavorful, and it made great burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States