Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
My grandmother used to always tell me to follow a recipe exactly the first time around then change it a little and make it your own. But never just flat out change it. I agree.... don't rate something after YOU make your changes. Your supposeto rate the recipe at hand. My family liked this recipe. It was real good. But I will NOW be changing it just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
IT REALLY TROUBLES ME WHEN FOLKS DO THERE OWN THING WITH A RECIPE AND THEN LOWER THE SCORE. CHUCK STEW MEAT AND CHUCK ROAST CUT UP ARE THE SAME THING AND THE RED THAT WAS SEEN IS PROBABLY THE 1/4 CUP OF CHILI POWDER. p l e a s e THINK BEFORE YOU WRITE AND STOP BEING MEAN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by midwestchef
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
For a better burrito filling and less fat, I made these changes [I hate it when people do this, sorry]: I used a London Broil, omitted the potatoes and added a jalapeno, seeded and diced. Slow cooked for 8-10 hours because this cut of meat it leaner and tougher. Pretty good - I just didn't want potatoes in my burrito...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
As written, using the chuck roast (fatty) and putting the potatoes in with the roast to slow cook (they get mushy) this only rates a 3. It tastes ok, but who needs all that fat and mushy potatoes? Buy a good sirloin steak or london broil or even an excellent quality stew meat (that's what I use...no fat). Add potatoes the last hour of cooking and turn up to high. No mush. No fat. This benefits from adding a sliced jalapeno pepper to it, always. Canned beans (black, pinto, red, etc.) can be added the last hour, also. Corn makes a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
If you cannot decide between chili or stew try this recipe. I made this in my slowcooker and it intensified the flavours and tenderized the meat. This definitly a Mexican chili stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The whole family loved this and it couldn't have been simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Yum! Mine had an inexplicable sweet taste to it. I am not sure if it was super-sweet peppers (I had baby bells) or if someone mixed powdered sugar in to the flour. But once I figure that part out, it'll be perfect! A little extra cornstarch in the broth when it's done helps it hold together in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Make a casserole out of the leftovers using layer of rice, carne guisada, black beans repeated and put pepper jack cheese on top. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was the most bland food I've ever made! I made it exactly as the recipe called with no additions. After it was done, I had to add a million different things just to get it to have a taste. My husband likes Mexican/Latino food and this was just not a hit. I don't know what this dish is supposed to taste like but this recipe was not for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. I used masa instead of all purpose flour. I also added more chili powder. It still needed more of a kick. It was not spicy at all, but definitely had flavor. My kids loved it. Next time, I won't dice the potatoes. I'll leave them a little bigger. I kind of lost them in the soup a bit. Make sure that your meat is lean/trimmed because it will reduce the amount of greasiness. But you also need to remember that Mexican soups are generally greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States