Easy Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
People ask me in advance to have this at my parties. I mix sour cream with the cream cheese to give it a softer, smoother texture. I also spread the cream cheese across the whole platter and spread the cocktail sauce and sprinkle the shrimp on top. Wheat Thins go excellent with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a big hit!! As others suggested, I spread the cream cheese on the bottom of a nine inch pie pan. I used thawed, frozen salad shrimp. (I am not fond of canned fish or meats.) It was gone in minutes!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I have used this recipe for YEARS! my variations are that I spread the cream cheese and cocktail sauce out on a plate and use "fresh or frozen Salad shrimp" and put that on top of the cream cheese & cocktail sauce. This never lasts long at my work parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I love this recipe!! I like to use thawed frozen salad shrimp instead of canned, and I also add a little Old Bay and garlic powder to the cream cheese to spice it up a little. Never any leftovers and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was good....but...I let the cream chees soften and mixed it with the shrimp, shaped into a ball and then poured the cocktail sauce over it. I served this with ritz buttery crackers too. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I have made this so many times. It is always a hit. Normally I put cream cheese in a thin layer on a 9" round and then layer the sauce. Also, you can either put the shrimp or crab meat as the top layer. They both taste great. An easy thing that most people really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was very good! But of course I added some things. First I mixed sour cream in with the cream cheese, then I also added a little bit of garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of hot sauce and spread that on a plate. I topped it with the cocktail sauce and some fresh crab. YUM! My boyfriend loved it! We dipped town house multigrain toppers in to the dip- it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is very good. If you want to rock your socks off add a can of cream of shrimp soup, a few dashes of tabasco and some pepper. Make sure you mix this well and chill overnight for flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used the suggestions of others: I used frozen salad shrimp instead of the canned shrimp. Also, there were quite some comments that the dip should be taken out of the fridge a couple of hours before so the cream cheese can soften. With this in mind, I bought the 8 oz. tub, WHIPPING cream cheese instead. It is nice and smooth and does not harden like the regular package of cream cheese does when placed in the fridge. It was very tasty, too. My family loved it. Next time, as a variety, I might buy another kind of whipping cream cheese to add more flavor to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Froggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I chose this recipe because it's a standard that everyone loves. I had the cream cheese spread out on a pretty glass dish, getting ready to head to a friend's for dinner, when I realized the frozen shrimp I had purchased was BAD. I quickly stopped at the market on the way to our friend's house and bought the best (1-lb.) can of lump crab that I could find (it's usually in the seafood department and is chilled). To prepare this, I used a hand mixer and whipped up 2 pkgs. of light cream cheese with a bit of sour cream, parsley, and about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning. Spread this in a large, 1-inch-deep glass serving dish. Poured the cocktail sauce over the cheese, and then layered the full pound of crab (rinsed first) over the top. The crab with the cream cheese and cocktail sauce (with wheat thins) was outstanding. l'll make this "mistake" from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States