Easy Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I had such high hopes for this recipes:( It was not good at all. No one in my house liked it either. Nothing in particular was bad about it, just overall bad. Bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I put the cream cheese first and spread it on a platter and then pour the cocktail sauce on top and then a few cans of baby shrimp, depending how much shrimp you want. It's so good! Serve with Ritz crachers! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My family has been making this for over 50 years. There are a couple of changes we made. I whip the cream cheese to make it a little softer, and I use a pound of fresh small (salad) shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great recipe. I also added black olives, green onions and shredded mozzarella to top it off. Very simple and a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used the suggestions of others: I used frozen salad shrimp instead of the canned shrimp. Also, there were quite some comments that the dip should be taken out of the fridge a couple of hours before so the cream cheese can soften. With this in mind, I bought the 8 oz. tub, WHIPPING cream cheese instead. It is nice and smooth and does not harden like the regular package of cream cheese does when placed in the fridge. It was very tasty, too. My family loved it. Next time, as a variety, I might buy another kind of whipping cream cheese to add more flavor to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Froggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is very simple and very tasty, but its better to let the cream cheese sit for a while and warm up just a bit, it makes it easier to dip with crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was very good! But of course I added some things. First I mixed sour cream in with the cream cheese, then I also added a little bit of garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of hot sauce and spread that on a plate. I topped it with the cocktail sauce and some fresh crab. YUM! My boyfriend loved it! We dipped town house multigrain toppers in to the dip- it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I chose this recipe because it's a standard that everyone loves. I had the cream cheese spread out on a pretty glass dish, getting ready to head to a friend's for dinner, when I realized the frozen shrimp I had purchased was BAD. I quickly stopped at the market on the way to our friend's house and bought the best (1-lb.) can of lump crab that I could find (it's usually in the seafood department and is chilled). To prepare this, I used a hand mixer and whipped up 2 pkgs. of light cream cheese with a bit of sour cream, parsley, and about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning. Spread this in a large, 1-inch-deep glass serving dish. Poured the cocktail sauce over the cheese, and then layered the full pound of crab (rinsed first) over the top. The crab with the cream cheese and cocktail sauce (with wheat thins) was outstanding. l'll make this "mistake" from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is so quick & easy! If you like cocktail sauce, you'll like this. I used frozen small shrimp. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is so easy and delicious, didn't change a thing, if I did, it wouldn't be your recipe would it? I always make this at family dinners, my son loves and and ask me if I am going to make the shrimp thing! Thanks Jen!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States