Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Excellent!! For the most part I followed the recipe. I had leftover mashed potatoes from another night so I just used those. I steamed fresh sliced carrots and sugar snap peas as the vegetable. Any vegetable would work well. These are what my kids prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is now my go to recipe. I changed a couple things though. I omitted the onions and diced tomatoes as I do not care for them and I use one can of corn and one can of green beans instead of mixed vegetables. I also only used HALF of the garlic it calls for in the mashed potatoes which is odd for me because I am a garlic lover and put it in everything, but when I used the full amount the first time I tried it, it was way to garlicky. I also sprinkle some cheddar cheese on the top before baking. I love this recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Russo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe: easy, comforting, filling, and yummy. My absolute favorite part is the Romano cheese. Definitely don't skip that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Burgoyne
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Burgoyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this for an extended family dinner. I did make a few alterations to it though. Instead of Rosemary, I used Italian Seasoning blend and I did not add diced tomatoes. I used frozen veggie blend (corn, carrot, asparagus) instead of canned. I also added some garlic and red wine to the beef mixture. It was a definite hit and will be added to our go-to meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My shepherd's pie from now on! I was leery of the tomato sauce, thinking it would have a Tex Mex look and taste I wasn't going for, but I went with the tomatoes anyway--- in large part because I'm so tired of people reviewing recipes that they alter dramatically. The tomatoes were great! I accidentally over-whipped the potatoes, but the garlic, herbs, and some extra cheese saved me. Delicious! I look forward to trying this with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I LOVED this! I didn't feel like putting in the effort to make the potatoes from scratch, so I did as another reviewer suggested and prepared two packages of "Simply Potatoes," mixing in the cheese, a couple splashes of half and half, garlic powder, chopped chives, and a few shakes of Italian seasoning. My oven doesn't have a broiler, but it turned out just fine, even though I'd have liked a browned crust. I put some of the excess cheese on top and it melted nicely! I also used one bag of frozen veggies instead of canned. When prepared with ready-made potatoes, this is SUPER easy and quick to put together. I'll make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
The potatoes on this were amazing. My daughter scraped out the pan I mashed them in and said, always make these potatoes. The whole dish was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Followed directions exactly, except for using frozen mixed veggies in place of the canned and I left the peels on the red potatoes. This is SO good. Better the next day. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple of times now - it's great! And so easy to modify to your personal preferences. Instead of canned veggies, I dice about 4-5 large carrots to cook with the onions, and then throw in about a cup of frozen peas right before taking the beef mixture off the stove. I use about 2lbs of red potatoes, weighed before peeled, and a head of cauliflower for the mash. I also use greek yogurt instead of butter - we really like the taste and texture and it's much healthier. I omit the diced tomatoes altogether. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States