Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was always my husband's favorite comfort food. I didn't quite get it (bland, blah) but after trying MANY recipes, I'm a believer after this one. I had to change a few things as to what I had on hand. I was trying to use up mashed potatoes so I added 1 T. of garlic powder and the 1 t. oregano to the meat mixture. Only had 12 oz. frozen corn and the tomato sauce had jalapenos in it. Had 6oz. Feta that I sprinkled over the meat mixture then frosted it all in a 9x13 dish with about an inch of mashed potatoes (at room temp. to ease spreading). Next time, I'll add chives or parsley for color and sprinkle paprika on top. This was SO tasty. I know it is my husband's favorite but he ate almost half of the whole dish himself. This will be the only recipe we use now. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was very easy to prepare and very good to eat. I would recommend using a deep dish for baking as it over flowed in the oven. I used ground turkey as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
YUMMY! I omitted the diced tomatoes since I do not care for them, used frozen mixed veggies instead of canned, and used two packages of "Simply Potatoes" mashed potatoes instead of making them from scratch. I also added shredded mozzerella to the potato mixture before baking and it was awesome! My husband does not like veggies and he had seconds. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Way beyong the 10 minute cooking time for the potatoes, even though I peeled and quartered mine. Now after rereading the recipe I'm assuming the skins are left on and the potatoes are the little baby reds. I think the potato directions are sketchy (particularly for a novice cook). If you are on any kind of dinner schedule, you need to adjust your timetable accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The meat/vegetable mixture of this recipe makes a lot. I added a large handful of matchstick carrots when I sauteed the onion and garlic and canned corn in place of the mixed veggies. When I made the potato mixture, I used half potato, half cauliflower. Other than that, I made no other changes. The potato portion of this recipe was enough to cover half of the meat mixture in one of my circular casserole dishes. I plan on freezing the other half and using on a busier day. Let's hope the boys like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I modified this recipe to my family. I used ground turkey, substituted Mrs. Dash for salt and left out the rosemary. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Sending some to my daughter in college. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I will make this often. The potatoes were delicious! I used frozen corn (thawed) and 1 can of Italian green beans (drained) instead of the mixed veggies and added extra garlic. Great comforting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I usually use a shepherd's pie recipe with cream of mushroom soup, but wanted to try something different. I don't think I'll ever go back, this is quite good. I did make a number of changes, as follows: - I cut the whole recipe in half and used an 8x8 casserole dish. - I used Italian turkey sausage instead of ground beef (as suggested by others). This gives it a great flavor. - I tried to get rid of some of the grease from the ground turkey before adding the tomato sauce and veggies. - I omitted the can of diced tomatoes (I'm a bit peculiar about where I like my tomatoes and shepherd's pie is not one of them). - Instead of the canned vegetables, I used fresh asparagus, red bell pepper, and mushrooms. I really enjoyed this combination. - I steamed the potatoes instead of boiling them (heard this keeps in more of the nutrients) - this increased the cooking time to 20 minutes. - I added some feta cheese to the potato mixture; I don't know if this had much effect on the final product. - I used the water from the boiled potatoes instead of milk (healthier). - I didn't broil it at the end (my broiler is frustrating - separate from the main oven - didn't seem worth it). Overall, I really enjoyed this. And it's a super easy recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
A nice change from the shepherd's pie I grew up on. I loved the cheesy garlicy potatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Wow this was an easy quick dinner to make and serve. I used a mix of cheeses that I had left over in the fridge and it was great. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States