Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very easy and VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I did not find this "easy." It took me an hour to prepare it plus cooking time. And it was just okay. The romano was a bit overpowering. Have half left over (no one ate much) and am hoping it will be better tomorrow. Won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I would agree about the potatoes, they need more like 20-25 minutes, even cut up. I would also suggest simmering the beef mixture for another 10 minutes to reduce the water. Other than that, great recipe. I would make it again. Btw, great potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was always my husband's favorite comfort food. I didn't quite get it (bland, blah) but after trying MANY recipes, I'm a believer after this one. I had to change a few things as to what I had on hand. I was trying to use up mashed potatoes so I added 1 T. of garlic powder and the 1 t. oregano to the meat mixture. Only had 12 oz. frozen corn and the tomato sauce had jalapenos in it. Had 6oz. Feta that I sprinkled over the meat mixture then frosted it all in a 9x13 dish with about an inch of mashed potatoes (at room temp. to ease spreading). Next time, I'll add chives or parsley for color and sprinkle paprika on top. This was SO tasty. I know it is my husband's favorite but he ate almost half of the whole dish himself. This will be the only recipe we use now. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was a very good change from my usual shepherds pie recipe. I used a lb. of frozen broccoli and cauliflower instead of canned veggies. I didn't have romano cheese but I always have cheddar so I used that. It was great. This was very delicious and easy to prepare. Next time per DH I will add corn also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
The reason for four stars is because I only used half the recipe. I only used the mashed potato part. I was a little skeptical about the tomato sauce so I decided to make a different meat base but still use the potato recipe. The mashed potatoes are the best I have ever had on shepherd's pie. The only thing I change was the garlic. I smash one big clove and add it the the water as I'm boiling the potatoes. I find it a little less mild, but yet you can still fully taste it once you mix it with the rest of the ingredients. Don't throw the garlic out, add it to the rest of the stuff. The cheese really tops it all off. I use freshly grated parmesan and find it just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was o.k. I think the romano was way too strong and overpowered the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
YUMMY! I omitted the diced tomatoes since I do not care for them, used frozen mixed veggies instead of canned, and used two packages of "Simply Potatoes" mashed potatoes instead of making them from scratch. I also added shredded mozzerella to the potato mixture before baking and it was awesome! My husband does not like veggies and he had seconds. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
True, this shepherd's pie is a bit different from what I grew up on but by using frozen veg it came out alright. The potatoes on top of this were FANTASTIC!!! I was leary of using the amount of garlic it called for so I cut back a bit but will definetely make this next time using the full amount. Husband enjoyed this a lot and it was much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I was skeptical, but this was a very delicious dinner. My husband, son and guest all loved it and we didn't have any leftovers! Next time I will use a deep dish pan because this bubbled over in the oven. I also used one can of cut green beans and one can of corn. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States