Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Nice variation on the potatoes (Romano cheese). I use heavy cream instead of milk along with butter, garlic powder, salt and pepper to make my mashed potatoes. For an easy BUSY MOM recipe, add a large can of vegetable soup to the beef after it is browned (instead of adding veggies or tomato sauce). Let it simmer for a few minutes and then place beef mixture in the bottom of a glass baking dish. Continue layering with a large can of sweet corn (drained) and then mashed potatoes. Top with pats of butter and paprika - and serve with beef gravy. Talk about a crowd pleaser! You can make this dish well in advance and keep it in the fridge until you get home from work. Pop it in the oven on at 350 for approximately 1/2 hour and serve with a green leafy salad. My family loves this meal, and I am thankful that it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was great! Really very easy and tasty. We halved the recipe, and used a 16 oz bag of frozen California mix veggies (defrosted in the microwave and left/pressed to drain) that we diced in place of the canned veggies. I didn't care for the rosemary, but I never do :) so I'll substitute another herb for that next time. Also used Parmesan instead of Romano because we always have a hunk in the house. We added a few large spoonfuls of baked winter squash to the potatoes, per another reviewer's suggestion, and you couldn't even taste it - but it added vitamins for sure! Left out the butter in the potatoes, but we may have added just a little more Parmesan in its place... :) Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
A pretty good casserole. I have a similar recipe I make that uses tomato soup. Didn't have any so I tried this recipe, as I had the ingrediants on hand. The potatoes were fabulous! I used parmejan cheese and they were absolutly delicious! I still think I'm partial to my own recipe, but will definitely use this potato recipe on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This one is definately going in our family cookbook! Everyone went back for seconds and thirds. The only things we changed was the veggies and we used fresh shredded carrots and zucchini and fresh green beans and cooked them until tender crisp prior to putting then in the pan to cook in the oven. I cant say this could get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This came out quite good. The only changes I made were adding sour cream to the potatoes and using frozen veggies instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Following some suggestions, and since i'm not a fan of vegitables, i only used half the can of tomatoes. I couldn't believe how good this was! It's definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was so good. Definitely a new favorite in our house. I didn't have a lot of time, so I used powdered potatoes instead of boiling fresh ones, but the recipe still turned out great! Thanks - made a wonderful St. Pat's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great twist on an old favorite. I used a butternut squash instead of potatoes (more fiber and nutrients and it cooks up to have the exact some texture with more flavor). Next time I will cut the garlic in half, however. We love garlic but this was just a little too much! Very easy and very good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was great. I cut it in half and made it for my girlfriend and I tonight. I used peas and corn for the veggies. I loved the flavors from the basil and rosemary. It was very filling. It paired great with a home brewed English porter. I am definitely making this again. I used ground sirloin tonight but plan on trying it with venison and with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My husband did not like this at all. He couldn't quite explain what it was about it he didn't like. One of my boys thought it was OK...he mainly liked the potatoes, I think. Other son did not like it too much. Maybe it would be better to peel the potatoes and use frozen veges (?). I used canned Veg-All - I think that's what it was called. I only tasted a little bit and I thought it was alright. My hubby wants me to throw out the recipe! (Sorry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States