Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Excellent!! For the most part I followed the recipe. I had leftover mashed potatoes from another night so I just used those. I steamed fresh sliced carrots and sugar snap peas as the vegetable. Any vegetable would work well. These are what my kids prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is now my go to recipe. I changed a couple things though. I omitted the onions and diced tomatoes as I do not care for them and I use one can of corn and one can of green beans instead of mixed vegetables. I also only used HALF of the garlic it calls for in the mashed potatoes which is odd for me because I am a garlic lover and put it in everything, but when I used the full amount the first time I tried it, it was way to garlicky. I also sprinkle some cheddar cheese on the top before baking. I love this recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Russo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe: easy, comforting, filling, and yummy. My absolute favorite part is the Romano cheese. Definitely don't skip that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Burgoyne
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Burgoyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this for an extended family dinner. I did make a few alterations to it though. Instead of Rosemary, I used Italian Seasoning blend and I did not add diced tomatoes. I used frozen veggie blend (corn, carrot, asparagus) instead of canned. I also added some garlic and red wine to the beef mixture. It was a definite hit and will be added to our go-to meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My shepherd's pie from now on! I was leery of the tomato sauce, thinking it would have a Tex Mex look and taste I wasn't going for, but I went with the tomatoes anyway--- in large part because I'm so tired of people reviewing recipes that they alter dramatically. The tomatoes were great! I accidentally over-whipped the potatoes, but the garlic, herbs, and some extra cheese saved me. Delicious! I look forward to trying this with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I LOVED this! I didn't feel like putting in the effort to make the potatoes from scratch, so I did as another reviewer suggested and prepared two packages of "Simply Potatoes," mixing in the cheese, a couple splashes of half and half, garlic powder, chopped chives, and a few shakes of Italian seasoning. My oven doesn't have a broiler, but it turned out just fine, even though I'd have liked a browned crust. I put some of the excess cheese on top and it melted nicely! I also used one bag of frozen veggies instead of canned. When prepared with ready-made potatoes, this is SUPER easy and quick to put together. I'll make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
The potatoes on this were amazing. My daughter scraped out the pan I mashed them in and said, always make these potatoes. The whole dish was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Followed directions exactly, except for using frozen mixed veggies in place of the canned and I left the peels on the red potatoes. This is SO good. Better the next day. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple of times now - it's great! And so easy to modify to your personal preferences. Instead of canned veggies, I dice about 4-5 large carrots to cook with the onions, and then throw in about a cup of frozen peas right before taking the beef mixture off the stove. I use about 2lbs of red potatoes, weighed before peeled, and a head of cauliflower for the mash. I also use greek yogurt instead of butter - we really like the taste and texture and it's much healthier. I omit the diced tomatoes altogether. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States