Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
After his third helping, my husband said, "that was really good" (ya think?) and my extremely picky son had his mouth full and could only give me a thumbs up while shaking his head. Only put corn in, used "four cheese" instant potatoes, but still added the garlic and cream cheese, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Very easy to make and the kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Tried this tonight. It's not very flavorful as is. I will have to adjust the seasonings next time. The potatoes were bland in my opinion. I think more garlic, salt,black pepper maybe some chives and more cream cheese (or sour cream which is what I usually use) will help. Th meat filling was fine. I added diced onions,salt and pepper to taste as it was cooking but once everything was combined and baked together I thought that it TOO needed more seasoning. All in all a good start but needs adjustments FOR SURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Alisa♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very good . Added ricotta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Absolutely Love it!!! Made instant garlic mashed potatoes. Didn't have garlic cloves so used minced in olive oil. Made brown gravy from a packet - it wasn't quite 1 cup so I added a little cream of mushroom soup too. Used 1 can of mixed vegetables and 1 can of green beans. Left the shredded cheddar out of the potatoes and instead piled on about 2 cups on top of the potatoes when there was 10 minutes cooking time left and let it brown just a touch. Scrumptious. Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Loved this recipe!! I used leftover hamburger patties and mashed potatoes, I did add the gravy separate on top of veggies, other than that I followed exactly. I have had Shepherd's Pie from someone that came from England and this is almost exact!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I usually make the BBQ version of this Shepherd's Pie, with 1/2 Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and 1/2 SBR Sweet Vidalia Onion sauce, opting to use canned corn instead of frozen veggies and omitting the cream cheese (or only using a tbsp)... it's always a hit. This time, however, I followed the directions to a T. The mashed potatoes were amazing, my boyfriend said the gravy gave it a nice "homestyle Sunday dinner" feel (exactly what i was hoping for). The one thing I will change for next time is to use CANNED veggies rather than frozen. I had thawed the veggies, as directed, but they still watered down the gravy quite a bit. Since I was hoping for the super creamy beef gravy taste, I'll try the canned veggies next time. Even still, the dish was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
My husband loves this! I just add corn & a little hot sauce & its a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Highly requested. I have made this several times following the recipe and ended up using only use the cheese on the top for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Great recipe for a quick and easy meal. I used instant mashed potatoes, and I stirred in the cream cheese and shredded cheese while it was still hot. The result was incredibly creamy potatoes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States