Easy Shakshuka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I thought this was very good - a nice change of pace breakfast dish that works exceptionally well for those "breakfast for dinner" days! I cut down to two servings, using a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The paprika, which I normally don't like, added a nice background flavor. Only other change was to add a teeny pinch of sugar to the tomatoes to cut the acidity. I liked this a lot and will make again! Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Love this dish. As a matter of taste I like mine with more garlic and with more hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a variation of a very old Italian dish my Grandmother made. Of course, she used left over pasta sauce from Sundays dinner & served it with crunchy italian bread toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made Shakshuka for 12 people last night in less then an hour. This recipe is indeed easy and fast. When I went to the grocey store though I couldn't find pickeld Jalapeno peppers. Not having time to do something with lives Jalapeno, I add crushed red pepper and double the garlic to increase the spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tried this dish, using crushed tomatoes because that's what I had. It was still great. Didn't have pita bread, so I made garlic bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I really liked this for a meatless option. It was easy to make and tasted great. Nice for a hot weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Just made this dish for the second time this morning. It is awesome...my husband and I love it. I used one can of stewed/seasoned tomatoes (oregano, celery, basil) and one can of diced tomatoes (no salt or seasoning added). This provided just the right amount af seasoning for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by white1969

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Pretty good with a slice of toast, since we didn't have pita or tortilla. Also didn't have paprika or cumin, so I basically did the following...sauteed garlic, onion, and 1 jalapeno in olive oil, then stirred in a 14-oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes with some cayenne and garlic powder, a handful of cherry tomatoes, and 5 pieces of pickled jalapeno diced. After sauteing a while, it got dry, so I added a dash of tomato sauce and maybe 1/4-1/2 cup of chicken stock. After about 15 minutes total, I cracked 4 eggs into a small bowl and slid them in, then covered and cooked for 2-3 minutes more. The yolks were runny and it was perfect. I spooned them onto a plate and topped with crumbled feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
this was very good, but the eggs took awhile to set. ended up putting a lid on to speed them up. Next time I will just do the eggs separate. Did use the tomatoes with basil and garlic per other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is pretty good! I actually skipped the veg. oil and I only had tomato sauce, so I used that instead. I also didn't have pita bread, but I had some Cheesy Italian Bread (from this site) and I put the whole thing over that. It was easy to convert to a single serving, and I felt like I had a tasty, fairly low-fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Shakshuka

Eggs gently poached in a robust tomato-pepper sauce.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States