Easy Shakshuka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is pretty good! I actually skipped the veg. oil and I only had tomato sauce, so I used that instead. I also didn't have pita bread, but I had some Cheesy Italian Bread (from this site) and I put the whole thing over that. It was easy to convert to a single serving, and I felt like I had a tasty, fairly low-fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Just made this dish for the second time this morning. It is awesome...my husband and I love it. I used one can of stewed/seasoned tomatoes (oregano, celery, basil) and one can of diced tomatoes (no salt or seasoning added). This provided just the right amount af seasoning for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by white1969

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I thought this was very good - a nice change of pace breakfast dish that works exceptionally well for those "breakfast for dinner" days! I cut down to two servings, using a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The paprika, which I normally don't like, added a nice background flavor. Only other change was to add a teeny pinch of sugar to the tomatoes to cut the acidity. I liked this a lot and will make again! Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was very good. If you like eggs with salsa you'll like this dish. I served mine with flour tortillas as I didn't have time to make pita bread. I had trouble getting the egg to cook on top though and finally had to cover the pan after more than five minutes of cooking and the whites on top were still transparent. I didn't have whole tomatoes so I used chunky crushed tomatoes. I diced up my onion and peppers very small as I prefer them that way. I will definitely make this again, it was very very good. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, what a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Combine this recipe with this more traditional one http://www.grouprecipes.com/38465/shakshuka.html and woo hooo. You wont be able to stop making it... If you have access to a middle eastern grocery store sprinkling with Za'atar spice mix really makes it so tasty... Or you can make your own as well... This recipe is awesome on its own but you should try the more traditional way sometime just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a variation of a very old Italian dish my Grandmother made. Of course, she used left over pasta sauce from Sundays dinner & served it with crunchy italian bread toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this yesterday morning for breakfast. It took a little bit longer to make then our normal Sunday morning breakfast, but it was a nice change. I had all the ingredients in my pantry. The only change to the recipe was the addition of salt and pepper. Served it with a pita bread. Thanks for sharing. It is always fun to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner last night. It was very simple and tasty but not as spicy as I would have liked. I did use regular jalapenos since I couldn't find pickled. I will make again and play around with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I am a big fan of shakshuka but like this recipe, I like to improvise on just about any recipe I read. Just some options for you all... I make it a few ways but my favorite is made by using 28oz can of fire roasted tomatoes w green chilies. I add baby Bella mushrooms, heads of asparagus and onions to the sauce along with garlic, cumin and spicy paprika. I have even used okra in place of asparagus if you want to go another route. If I am unhappy with spice level I will add some chipotle to give it some kick or throw some dried chilies into the mix. Salt and pepper to taste. Add parsley on top and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States