Easy Shakshuka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
this was very good, but the eggs took awhile to set. ended up putting a lid on to speed them up. Next time I will just do the eggs separate. Did use the tomatoes with basil and garlic per other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Love this dish. As a matter of taste I like mine with more garlic and with more hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I really liked this for a meatless option. It was easy to make and tasted great. Nice for a hot weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Pretty good with a slice of toast, since we didn't have pita or tortilla. Also didn't have paprika or cumin, so I basically did the following...sauteed garlic, onion, and 1 jalapeno in olive oil, then stirred in a 14-oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes with some cayenne and garlic powder, a handful of cherry tomatoes, and 5 pieces of pickled jalapeno diced. After sauteing a while, it got dry, so I added a dash of tomato sauce and maybe 1/4-1/2 cup of chicken stock. After about 15 minutes total, I cracked 4 eggs into a small bowl and slid them in, then covered and cooked for 2-3 minutes more. The yolks were runny and it was perfect. I spooned them onto a plate and topped with crumbled feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tried this dish, using crushed tomatoes because that's what I had. It was still great. Didn't have pita bread, so I made garlic bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made Shakshuka for 12 people last night in less then an hour. This recipe is indeed easy and fast. When I went to the grocey store though I couldn't find pickeld Jalapeno peppers. Not having time to do something with lives Jalapeno, I add crushed red pepper and double the garlic to increase the spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I am a big fan of shakshuka but like this recipe, I like to improvise on just about any recipe I read. Just some options for you all... I make it a few ways but my favorite is made by using 28oz can of fire roasted tomatoes w green chilies. I add baby Bella mushrooms, heads of asparagus and onions to the sauce along with garlic, cumin and spicy paprika. I have even used okra in place of asparagus if you want to go another route. If I am unhappy with spice level I will add some chipotle to give it some kick or throw some dried chilies into the mix. Salt and pepper to taste. Add parsley on top and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner last night. It was very simple and tasty but not as spicy as I would have liked. I did use regular jalapenos since I couldn't find pickled. I will make again and play around with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this yesterday morning for breakfast. It took a little bit longer to make then our normal Sunday morning breakfast, but it was a nice change. I had all the ingredients in my pantry. The only change to the recipe was the addition of salt and pepper. Served it with a pita bread. Thanks for sharing. It is always fun to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a variation of a very old Italian dish my Grandmother made. Of course, she used left over pasta sauce from Sundays dinner & served it with crunchy italian bread toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States